The Best of Gusto & Grace: 2014 Edition

5 Jan

At the beginning of the new year, I love taking a little time  to reflect on everything the previous year held for me. Here are a handful of Gusto & Grace’s 2014 Highlights

The Popcorn Hydrangeas from the Circus Baby Shower I hosted for my friends and godson remains the most pinned image from the blog.

Popcorn Hydrangeas for Circus Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com

If you didn’t earlier this year, don’t forgot to bookmark this life-altering Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe.  

World's Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe https://gustoandgrace.wordpress.com/2014/02/03/worlds-best-chocolate-chip-cookie-recipe

When our box of ticket stubs started overflowing, I got creative and started using our bedside lamps to store our ever-growing collection of stubs. Read all about them here.

Ticket Stub Filled Lamps https://gustoandgrace.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/ticket-filled-lamps/

In February I was asked to appear on Good Day Austin. With a squeal of delight, I accepted, and had the time of my life showcasing my DIYed wedding invitations. I even earned an invitation back!

FOX 7 | Good Day Austin: Make it Monday | DIY Wedding Invitations www.gustoandgraceblog.com

My home finally got some art on the wall and it all started with the Prada Marfa watercolour print I created. You can print out the full sized version for FREE here.

Free Printable Watercolor Prada Marfa Print www.gustoandgraceblog.com

I fell in love with the fact that San Antonio is only an hour away after an exploratory day trip.

Ocho_Hotel_Havana_San_Antonio_Texas

Gusto & Grace got a Home Tour page, which I am now realizing is in dire need of new photos. Grab a cup of something warm and a soft throw, and take a look around!

Black & White Entryway Inspiration

I made my first visit to Round Top, and came home empty handed. I still kick myself for not buying this gorgeous, vintage, lucite beauty:

Round Top Antique Fair | Gusto & Grace

For a grand total of $17 I turned my neighbors trash into my gaudy, golden treasure. Spoiler alert: The upstairs bathroom is in the middle of an update.

ornate gold frame mirror

On our one year anniversary, wedding photos hit the blog.

Bridal Party Socks Groomsment Photo Ideas

Jeremy & Kristin Photography

After our incredible one year anniversary trip, a.k.a. second honeymoon, to Paris, I may be on the road to becoming a Francophile. If you’re planning or trip, or simply obsessed with the City of Lights, you can read about my favorites sites (museums and monuments), shops and eats in Paris and oogle over Chateau Versailles.

Laudree Paris | Champs Eylsees

I may have gained status of Best Wife Ever by playing on my husbands weaknesses and planning Pizza Week: nightly dates with local pizza. Bufalina, however, won the award for best pizza we ate all week.

Via 313 Austin

In July, the console we commissioned our friend to build finally made it to Austin. I have talented friends, folks. It is a such a handsome piece of furniture.

White Modern Geometric Console

In July, my mom and stepdad, and sister and brother-in-law came down and the guys installed crown moulding in our kitchen and dining room.

Dining Room Crown Moulding

This fall, furniture made of dreams arrived on my doorstop, or, as my dad refers to them, thrones.

Neutral Living Room Hooded Balloon Porters Versailles Chairs

This holiday season I hosted our first annual Christmas party

Christmas Snow Globe Cake

…and learned my lesson about glitter wrapping paper.

Gifts with Glitter and Tartan

My love of Christmas has not diminished, as evidenced by my growing ornament collection. Read up for tips on hunting down the best traditional European glass ornaments!

2014 Christmas Tree

On the personal front, 2014 was a big year for Anthony and I. I finally found a job in Austin in January 2014. Anthony got his CPA, we bought a used car, removed PMI from our mortgage, and later re-financed our house. We welcomed a new newphew and a godson in March. In May, welcomed my sister and her husband home from New York City and bid adieu to Anthony’s brother and his family when they moved to a new wintry land. In October, paid a short visit to them in Minnesota to see their new digs. Last month, we took my first trip to Anthony’s happy place, Disney World (pictures to come).

If you missed last year’s recap, you can find it here.

Happy New Year!

♥ Dominique

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.