Living Room Updates

5 Sep

Pinch me.

The culmination of gifts, saving, and waiting arrived at my front door on Friday.

The anticipation has been overwhelming (overwhelming: a word that always makes me think about Ten Things I Hate About You).

My living room has never been featured in full on the blog. You’ve seen a few angles when I posted about our console and can see how far it has come when you look at our couches, and maybe you even sneaked a peak at Christmas, but otherwise has been intentionally left a mystery. Below is what it looked like most of the year I’ve lived in Austin:

Living Room Leather Set

Over the past couple of months our living room has undergone numerous changes. We swapped our lack tables for a thrifted and gorgeous glass-topped brass coffee table. The mirrored console made the move from the upstairs hall downstairs and the scissor arm lamps moved up to the guest bedroom.  We got rid of the oversized leather chair that matched the couch. And finally…

Neutral Living Room

I am the very excited owner of two porters chairs! (Also known as balloon chairs, hooded chairs, and Versailles chairs.)

I always swoon when I see images of these chairs or when I have see them at Bergdorf Goodman or Tillman’s Roadhouse (where we celebrated our rehearsal dinner), and now I own a pair! I can swoon every time I sit in my very own living room.

Head over to the Home Tour page to see the rest of the room!

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

12 Responses to “Living Room Updates”

  1. Kelli 5 September 2014 at 7:57 AM #

    How exciting! I get so excited about new furniture too! 🙂 The chairs are gorgeous!

  2. Ashley 5 September 2014 at 11:00 AM #

    “Can you ever just be whelmed?” Love the 10 Things I Hate About You reference!

  3. Maryn 5 September 2014 at 11:52 AM #

    It fits so perfectly with your hot air balloon theme! I can so picture you sitting in one of those with a cocktail in hand. So classy.

  4. Robin Rancilio 5 September 2014 at 5:47 PM #

    I’ve been eying those Restoration Hardware chairs myself!! They look great 🙂

  5. Robin 8 September 2014 at 12:33 PM #

    So cool! I never realized that type of chairs had a name, but I was admiring some really beautiful ones that we saw in the lobby of Disney’s Beach Club resort when we were there yesterday. Good to know!

    • gusto&grace 8 September 2014 at 4:30 PM #

      So cool to know they have them at Disney! I’ll have to check them out. My husband and I have a trip planned to WDW in December. Any tips?

  6. Nicky 9 September 2014 at 12:05 PM #

    Love the chairs! Classic and timeless!

  7. Happily Ever After Etc. 13 September 2014 at 9:39 PM #

    I love how excited you are! The chairs look gorgeous but I always wonder how comfortable they are, comfy and cozy?

    • gusto&grace 16 September 2014 at 9:22 AM #

      I put a pillow against the back to add a little padding, but the cushy seats are so large they are perfect for curling up in.

  8. Everygoodthingblog by Melissa 10 November 2014 at 9:42 PM #

    Those chairs are amazing Dominique! I’m obsessed. Your living room looks great so far! Cant wait to see more home pictures 🙂

    • gusto&grace 13 November 2014 at 9:15 AM #

      Thank you, Melissa! Lately I have been thinking not much has changed on the home front, but looking back at the home tour page I realized how much of a difference the small changes make.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best of Gusto & Grace: 2014 Edition | gusto & grace - 5 January 2015

    […] fall, furniture made of dreams arrived on my doorstop, or, as my dad refers to […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

