The Glass Skywalk at the Grand Canyon and the Hoover Dam

19 Mar

I could not have imagined that a large rock formation could be so humbling and so awe-inspiring. If the Grand Canyon is not on your bucket list, it should be.

I did not comprehend it’s vastness or my own smallness until I visited the Grand Canyon. I could not have possibly imagined how large such a small part of one country could be. Helicopters descend into the canyon, and look like ants by comparison.

On our recent trip to Vegas, we took a day trip to visit the Grand Canyon and the Hoover Dam. Despite the terrible online reviews we opted to go to the Glass Skywalk at Grand Canyon West. It is two hours closer to Vegas than the South Rim and, let’s face it, the National Park doesn’t have a glass structure that allows me to stand 4000 feet above the Canyon floor.

Grand Canyon Glass Skywalk

Photo provided by Hualapai Ranch | Skywalk at Grand Canyon West

Photo provided by Hualapai Ranch | Skywalk at Grand Canyon West

Grand Canyon West Glass Skywalk

If you are planning a trip the the Grand Canyon and choose to go to the Skywalk:

+ DO keep in mind that it will be more expensive than the South Rim

+ DO come to terms with the fact that if you want pictures on the Skywalk, you will have to pay

+ DON’T listen to old reviews: the road to Hualapai Ranch was completed fall of 2014

Jumping Grand Canyon

Coming from Vegas, I think the two hour and twenty minute drive was the right choice for us, but I truly think that you can’t go wrong with any view of the Canyon. I imagine that the South Rim is equally as breathtaking as the West.

Trail Closed

On the way back into Vegas we stopped at the Hoover Dam which was very evidently and charmingly 1930’s.

Hoover Dam

Photos of Las Vegas coming soon!

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

3 Responses to “The Glass Skywalk at the Grand Canyon and the Hoover Dam”

  1. Shauna841505 19 March 2015 at 11:00 AM #

    Gorgeous! I haven’t been in 10+ years, it looks even more beautiful now!

    ~ http://raeofsparkles.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Las Vegas Mini Guide, or, So Much More Than I Expected | gusto & grace - 4 May 2015

    […] we rented a car to day trip to the Grand Canyon, we spent a fair amount of time exploring Vegas like a local might. My favorite meals in Vegas were […]

  2. Paradise Found: Kona, Hilo, and Waikiki | gusto & grace - 26 July 2016

    […] and unique in every place I have ever visited. Throughout my most recent trip, spare maybe the Grand Canyon, I was more moved by nature than I have ever been. For my mom’s fiftieth birthday, my family […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.