Glitter and Tartan Wrapping Paper

24 Dec

The best advice I can give on glitter and tartan wrapping paper? Do not try this at home.

After spying the prettiest glitter wrapping paper at the end of the Christmas season last year, I promptly decided that next year I’d wrap all of my presents in silver glitter and Christmas plaid. Three rolls of paper, and 50 yards of wired ribbon later, I’m swearing to you that I will never do it again.

Gifts with Glitter and Tartan

Sure, it looks fabulous, and yes I do love it, but here is what the shining silver rolls don’t tell you while you are swooning in the store: tape doesn’t work on it. Yes ma’am, you read that right. I wrapped all of my Christmas presents this year without any adhesive. After, of course, trying and failing with all but duct tape.

Anthropologie Stockings

It does warn that you might end up glittery, but when it is still on the roll, you cannot fathom the table or the rug that look as if Tinkerbell has stomped and flown all over it. I imagine I will be finding excessive silver glitter in all of our Christmas decor for years to come. I also predict that all recipients of our Christmas gifts will like their presents a little less when the realize the mess we’ve left them with.

My fingers after simply picking up the above present to photograph it:

Hands and Glitter

I repeat, do not try this at home.

Merry Christmas,

Dominique

2 Responses to “Glitter and Tartan Wrapping Paper”

  1. Lisa 4 January 2015 at 10:13 AM #

    Haha, oh wow. I can totally see the appeal of glitter wrapping paper, but it does seem to have some practical issues. Sure is pretty though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best of Gusto & Grace: 2014 Edition | gusto & grace - 5 January 2015

    […] …and learned my lesson about glitter wrapping paper. […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

