Gray, Navy, and Copper Bathroom

30 Mar

It went from bad to worse before it got good, and I take full responsibility. I was so desperate to rid my master bathroom of its beige walls, that I hastily painted them a way-too-dark gray. It completely clashed with the orange-y wood cabinets and the fact that I lacked a big-picture vision when I dove in left me with an unattractive, mood-bending room.

Exhibit A (a.k.a. before):

After deciding on a bedroom color scheme and finding a little inspiration, I settled on reparation plans for the bathroom. It never ceases to amaze me what a little paint and hardware can do.

Behold! (a.k.a. after):

20170315_100806.jpg

When I painted the kitchen cabinets, I trusted the guy at the hardware store and went for latex paint and bonding primer. I opted to test out oil based primer and paint this time to see if it would reduce visible brush strokes and hold up better over time. I will report back.

The hardest part was undoubtedly going from knobs to pulls. I have a new found appreciation for cabinet makers. Getting two holes level, centered, and the right distance apart is more challenging than it should be. There may or may not be a broken drill bit still in one of the drawer fronts…

Truth be told, I replaced the standard builder-issued mirror with these wanna-be Venetian beauties some time ago, but they didn’t come alive until the walls were lightened.

Inexpensive Cheap Venetian Style Mirror

While the work is never done, the room just feels good now.

Have questions? Comment below.

Source list- Wall paint: Valspar’s Urban Sunrise from Lowes | Cabinet Paint: Behr Oil Paint color matched to Valspar’s Indigo Streamer from Home Depot | Copper Hardware: Amazon  | Mirrors: Wisteria

10 Responses to “Gray, Navy, and Copper Bathroom”

  1. nayardt 31 March 2016 at 1:36 AM #

    Personally I really like how it turned out!!!

  2. Rowe Spurling Paint Company 3 April 2016 at 1:37 PM #

    Love the combination of a cool navy and a warm copper.

  3. Mike Madanat 30 September 2016 at 9:00 PM #

    Hello! Love this. We’re planning on painting our kitchen cabinets this color and ordering these pulls so it’s so nice to see someone else did it and it looks awesome. Questions.. How easy/difficult was it to paint the cabinets and how much did you end up spending on the Behr oil based paint?

    • Dominique Paolini | gusto & grace 6 October 2016 at 12:34 PM #

      First, thank you! Next, it was fairly easy to paint, especially after having painted my own kitchen. The toughest part was lining up and drilling holes for my new copper pulls since the drawers and cabinets both previously had knobs requiring a single hold. For the bathroom, I spent about $20 for one quart of primer (which I had tinted) and one quart of paint. For my (somewhat small) kitchen I used less than one gallon of primer and less than one gallon of paint. I used a brush, worked in small sections, and went over my brushstrokes with a small, dense foam roller. Let me know if you have any other questions.

  4. Andrea 11 February 2018 at 11:15 PM #

    I want to paint my kitchen cabinets a gray color. I’ve never painted before, so I’m looking for recommendations to brushes and paint finish. It’s a small kitchen with black appliances, much like yours. Did you sand everything before painting? Or just used primer?

    • Dominique Paolini | gusto & grace 27 June 2019 at 3:38 PM #

      Hi Andrea, Gosh, it has been awhile since I’ve updated site and I missed your comment. I doubt you need my input anymore, but I just used bonding primer in my kitchen with Kitchen and Bathroom paint as recommended my my hardware store. After several more projects, I’ve come to learn that oil based paint and primer holds up so much better.

  5. Tika 8 December 2018 at 3:11 PM #

    Hi! I love how your bathroom turned out. What shade of blue (paint brand and color) did you use and where did you get the pulls? I’d been considering doing my kitchen in these colors but now I think I’d like my bathroom to look like this! TikiDawl@gmail.com

    • Tika 8 December 2018 at 3:13 PM #

      Oops! I JUST saw that you left the information at the bottom of the post! Thanks!

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.