A Big Top Baby Shower

14 Jan

This past weekend I had the honor of throwing one of my best friends a baby shower. I opted to go for a circus theme.

For the circus invitations, I used printable ones from One Charming Party. I printed wishes for baby cards in yellow from Lauren Makes. Had I thought ahead a little more I would have purchased Dr. Suess’s If I Ran the Circus  and used it as a guestbook. I looked for one a couple of days before the shower at my local bookstore with no success.

Circus Baby Shower Buffet www.gustoandgraceblog.comThe big top above the buffet is actually made to go over a crib, so it doubled as a gift for mom and baby. 

Circus Party Food www.gustoandgraceblog.comSince I was hosting the shower away from home, I opted for an easy menu of mostly pre-made items and creatively renamed them to fit the theme. The menu included Nutter Butters, cotton candy, animal crackers, licorice, red gumballs, mini corn dogs on skewers, a popcorn bar, monkey bread, and cupcakes.

Circus Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com Circus Party Popcorn Bar www.gustoandgraceblog.com Circus Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com

Disappointingly, I left my Ferris wheel cupcake holder in Austin. I made do with one my sister had left at my mom’s for my lingerie shower.
Circus Party Clown Nose Straws www.gustoandgraceblog.comI found these amazing clown nose straw toppers at Hobby Lobby.

Circus Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.comI used chalkboard jars from Anthropologie for ketchup and mustard for the mini corn dogs. 

Popcorn Hydrangeas for Circus Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.comPlaced in red and whited striped containers, Hydrangeas resemble popcorn.

Circus Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com

I almost forgot to get a picture with my friend, so we snapped a quick one, squinting in the sun, right as she was about to leave. Doesn’t the mom-to-be look great? She’s seven months along with just a bitty bump. My outfit was my best attempt at circus attire. You can’t tell, but my necklace is elephants “holding hands, by holding tails.” My brother got it for me for Christmas and I love it.

I can hardly wait to meet baby Jonathan!

6 Responses to “A Big Top Baby Shower”

  1. Liz A. 14 January 2014 at 3:48 PM #

    Beautiful! I loved the centerpieces! 🙂 Thank you for stopping by my site too.

  2. Ryn B 15 January 2014 at 1:02 AM #

    This looks so great! It’s adorable! I wish we could throw parties everyday! It’s just so fun!

  3. Everygoodthingblog by Melissa 16 January 2014 at 9:20 AM #

    This is the cutest baby shower! I love the decorations you chose and the table display. Congrats to your friend! It looks like you had an amazing time 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Raindrop and Umbrella Themed Baby Shower | gusto & grace - 28 January 2014

    […] has been a month full of hosting out-of-town baby showers. First was the Big Top Baby Shower for one of my best friends. This past weekend I co-hosted a “sprinkle” in Houston for […]

  2. How to plan a Circus Baby Shower - Savvy Sassy Moms - 3 April 2014

    […] Donut Holes 4. Circus Baby Shower Invitations 5. Circus Peanuts Centerpiece 6. Circus Cupcakes 7. Hydrangea Popcorn Centerpieces 8. Carmel Popcorn […]

  3. The Best of Gusto & Grace: 2014 Edition | gusto & grace - 5 January 2015

    […] Popcorn Hydrangeas from the Circus Baby Shower I hosted for my friends and godson remains the most pinned image from the […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.