A Quick, Easy, Inexpensive Entryway Update

17 Jan

I crossed the first item off the decorating to-do list. No, we didn’t install crown molding in the dining room yet. I skipped right to number six and added a ceiling medallion to the entryway.

Here is that the entry light looked like before:

A Quick Entryway Update www.gustoandgracecblog.com

Just plain. I have been wanting to replace the light in our entry for some time. Once or twice I almost purchased IKEA’s Stockholm chandelier, but my indecision got the best of me and I have been holding out. I am still loving my striped green archway.

Here is what it looks like now:

A quick, easy, inexpensive, entryway update www.gustoandgraceblog.com

I first tried to source the medallion from a home salvage shop in Fort Worth, but they only medallions they had in stock were very large and incredibly heavy. The one I ended up with took about $35 from my wallet and 30 minutes of my husband’s and my time.

A quick, easy, inexpensive entryway update www.gustoandgraceblog.com

It makes the light seem much more substantial and gives our small entryway more of a presence.  

Have you made any quick, easy, inexpensive updates to your home lately?

♥ Dominique

3 Responses to “A Quick, Easy, Inexpensive Entryway Update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Entryway Progress and Inspiration | gusto & grace - 22 April 2014

    […] take a great before shot, but you can see a glimpse of our previously white door when we installed our ceiling medallion. Unfortunately, due to HOA restrictions and my inability to get matching paint, the exterior of our […]

  2. 2014 Home Project Goals Update | gusto & grace - 25 July 2014

    […] medallion to the entry- Easy peasy. The entryway has actually made much more progress than just a medallion. We bought a new rug, painted the door black, and hung some […]

  3. Lessons in Lighting | gusto & grace - 8 June 2015

    […] medallions add architectural interest. Last year, I installed a simple Black and White Entry. This year, a more ornate one in the dining […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.