Raindrop and Umbrella Themed Baby Shower

28 Jan

January has been a month full of hosting out-of-town baby showers. First was the Big Top Baby Shower for one of my best friends. This past weekend I co-hosted a “sprinkle” in Houston for my sister-in-law, full of clouds, raindrops, and umbrellas. We used a color palette of blues, grey, silver and white.

Raindrop and Umbrella Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com

I made clouds out of white tissue paper and raindrops from different blue and silver paper scraps.

Raindrop and Umbrella Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com Light Blue Candy Bar

My co-host created a candy bar as favors for the guests.

Raindrop and Umbrella Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com #candybar #babyblue #babyboy

I loved the bunting for the circus shower, so I used it as a template for a banner for this shower too, using paper that matched the raindrops.  Raindrop and Umbrella Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com

I put together a tower of blue foods including marbled meringues, umbrella shaped spritz cookies, and cloudlike angel food cupcakes. The biggest hit of the shower may have been a caramel-toffee fruit dip made by my co-host.

Parmesan Custard in Egg Cups

Raindrop and Umbrella Baby Shower www.gustoandgraceblog.com

For savory treats I made Parmesan custard in egg cups, babybel cheese umbrellas, and spinach artichoke phyllo cups (not pictured).

Raindrop and Umbrella Baby Shower Onesie Decorating Activity www.gustoandgraceblog.comRather than playing baby shower games  we supplied the guests with onesies, fabric markers, and iron-ons to decorate onesies for my new nephew. I wish I had taken pictures of some of the decorated onesies.

If you’re hosting a baby shower, consider theming it around the nursery decor so that party decorations can be sent home with the mom to use in the baby’s room.

Thanks for reading,

Dominique 

2 Responses to “Raindrop and Umbrella Themed Baby Shower”

  1. HelloHomebody 28 January 2014 at 12:22 PM #

    You are so creative! Those babybel cheese umbrellas are too cute, and I love the sweets’ color coordination!

  2. Jessica 29 January 2014 at 7:59 AM #

    An adorable theme! The clouds and raindrops really make the space feel special, and the cheese umbrellas are the cutest. Well done!

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.