Everyone Should Have a Good Waffle Recipe

7 Jan

When I was writing my year-in-review post, I realized I had not shared many savory or staple recipes on Gusto & Grace. This year, I want to change that. Throughout the year, look for basic recipes with the title “Everyone Should Have a Good __________ Recipe.”

Anthony and I have tested four or five different waffle recipes. This recipe makes the best waffles around. The best part is they’re really easy to make. Whip up a batch without separating eggs and whipping egg whites!

Everyone Should Have: A Good Waffle Recipe www.gustoandgraceblog.comMy husband got me the rose gold flatware for Christmas. Isn’t it lovely?

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Toppings of your choice for serving

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Next add the buttermilk, oil, eggs, sugar and vanilla. Mix well. Let sit for 30 minutes. This allows the buttermilk and baking soda to react and give your waffles that crisp, fluffy texture. Heat up your waffle maker. Use non-stick cooking spray just before pouring the batter onto the waffle maker (only do this for the first waffle). Cook according to waffle maker’s instructions. Makes approximately 10 waffles.

Sometimes, I like to add a little cinnamon to the batter.

Everyone Should Have: A Good  Waffle Recipe www.gustoandgraceblog.comNotice the mini gravy boats I painted for Thanksgiving in the background? They’re perfect for syrup.

Word to the wise: If you don’t yet have a waffle maker, purchase a square one when you do. Frozen waffles toast up nicely, but round waffles won’t fit in a standard toaster. You also make four servings at a time rather than one which is great if you have breakfast guests.

Fill in the blank by commenting below: Everyone should have a good ___________ recipe.

I hope your new year is off to a great start!

9 Responses to “Everyone Should Have a Good Waffle Recipe”

  1. HelloHomebody 9 January 2014 at 1:11 PM #

    That flatware is so perfect! These waffles look so good, a waffle iron is on my kitchen appliance wish list.

    • gusto&grace 13 January 2014 at 9:06 AM #

      If you haven’t gotten one by the time I swap my round one for a square one, I’ll pass it along.

  2. sandyandmaryn 9 January 2014 at 7:55 PM #

    Everyone should have a good…Hot dip recipe!

    P.S. I’m pretty jelly of your silver, I mean rose gold!

  3. sandyandmaryn 9 January 2014 at 8:02 PM #

    Everyone should have a good… Hot dip recipe!

    P.S. I’m jelly of your new silver, I mean rose gold!

    • gusto&grace 14 January 2014 at 3:48 PM #

      In regards to the rose gold silver, there is an amazing Pottery Barn/West Elm/Williams Sonoma Outlet about 25 minutes South of Austin…. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Everyone Should Have a Good Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe | gusto & grace - 4 February 2014

    […] more of my favorite staple recipes? Check out the first recipe in the series: waffles and follow the blog for more to come. When polling readers, chili was a popular response, so keep […]

  2. Quick Easy and Delicious Waffles | lovelyseasonscomeandgo - 6 February 2014

    […] Everyone Should Have a Good Waffle Recipe […]

  3. Everyone Should Have A Good: Chili Recipe | gusto & grace - 4 March 2014

    […] requested by readers after posting my first recipe in the “Everyone Should Have A Good” recipe series, I bring you my favorite Chili […]

  4. Everyone Should Have a Good: Tomato Sauce Recipe | gusto & grace - 11 April 2014

    […] Waffles […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.