Green Striped Archway

6 Sep

Let me start by giving all creative credit to Katrina via Young House Love. I  fell in love with her striped kitchen pass through. A month later, I was sitting on the couch and looked over at this blank archway between our dining and living rooms.

Dining Room Decorating Details www.gustoandgraceblog.com

What I saw weeks earlier came back to my mind. Almost immediately, I grabbed leftover paint from my ombre barstool project, measured and taped off 4 inch stripes and got to work. What a huge impact a little pattern and color makes! I think Greek key pattern would also be awesome.

Green Striped Archway www.gustoandgraceblog.com

In July Anthony and I finally hung curtains of the proper length, purchased the retro looking mint curio that saves us lots of cabinet space, and hung the collection of green plates on the wall.

Green Striped Archway www.gustoandgrace.com

Future visions for the dining room include crown molding, and a Martha Stewart inspired coffee station featuring my espresso machine the currently resides on the top shelf of the pantry, a collection of jadeite mugs I have yet to own, and a french bottle drying rack.

What are some of your sources for pattern and color inspiration? Do you have any copycat designs in your home?

I hope your Friday is going swimmingly!

10 Responses to “Green Striped Archway”

  1. designfabulous 6 September 2013 at 1:57 PM #

    Wow, this is awesome. I am so glad I inspired this fanastic makeover! Thanks for letting me know about it. I will have to share your post with my readers next week. Loving your blog too!

  2. bexbeltran 6 September 2013 at 4:29 PM #

    love this line: “a collection of jadeite mugs I have yet to own,” I often make plans as if I already have something- then it just makes it that much more certain that I’ll end up getting it (or in the DIY case) doing it- love the stripes!

  3. aksharav 9 September 2013 at 12:05 PM #

    Wow, what a great DIY! I’ve always wanted to do stripes or pinstripes on my walls- like grey and black combo, or navy blue and white. I love the Martha Stewart coffee station-what a great idea and perfect for entertaining too!

  4. Janeray 15 October 2013 at 2:43 PM #

    Love the stripes! Jadeite is the most awesome color. Ever.

    • gusto&grace 15 October 2013 at 3:12 PM #

      Thanks! I can’t wait to make more progress in the room, but the stripes certainly make a difference.

  5. fairfax chiropractors 31 July 2014 at 1:00 PM #

    Hey there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web
    browsers and both show the same results.

    • gusto&grace 31 July 2014 at 1:02 PM #

      Thanks, with this post in particular? I’ll do a check up. 🙂 I appreciate your feedback.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fan Makeover, Little details make all the difference! Stripes in Archway. | Design Fabulous - 6 September 2013

    […] else, but I am loving the color that she used and I am also loving her blog. Go check out her blog here, and leave her some love if you like her […]

  2. The Best of Gusto and Grace 2013 Edition | gusto & grace - 31 December 2013

    […] Moving to Austin has been an adventure-filled adjustment. I am excitedly decorating my husband’s former bachelor pad, that I’ve lovingly dubbed The Estate. Besides filling it with the many blessing we received from our registry, I think the biggest impact projects were painting the faux canopy in the master, repainting the kitchen cabinets, restoring the patio furniture, and the simple project of striping the dining room archway. […]

  3. A Quick, Easy, Inexpensive Entryway Update | gusto & grace - 17 January 2014

    […] Just plain. I have been wanting to replace the light in our entry for some time. Once or twice I almost purchased IKEA’s Stockholm chandelier, but my indecision got the best of me and I have been holding out. I am still loving my striped green archway. […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

