Painting Mini Gravy Boats

29 Oct

This year, there will be no mention of Halloween celebrations for me. No passing out candy to trick-or-treaters and no costumes (admittedly I’ve only dressed up once in my life). This Friday I’m coordinating the wedding of a long time friend, so Thursday’s celebrating will be of love and marriage.

Before I write off the last few days of October, I’m going to re-cap Crocktoberfest. Theming my cooking this month was fun. Getting acquainted with my extra-hot crockpot has been an adventure of its own. Here are the slow-cooker recipes I shared on the blog this month: Yucatan Braised Short Ribs with Chipotle-Cheddar Mashed PotatoesGreen Chile Macaroni and Cheese, Chicken Tomatillo Soup,  and Pumpkin Bread.

As October comes to a close, I am thinking Thanksgiving. I love any reason to entertain. I have had tablescapes, menus, and decor on my mind. Anthony and I will be hosting our first married Thanksgiving for any family that will come. I am excited.

I found the first piece of the Thanksgiving puzzle at Target, mini gravy boats, but they weren’t quite right. Here’s what they looked like when I bought them.

Mini Gravy Boats www.gustoandgraceblog.com

It’s not a secret that I love miniature things and dishes for single servings. I like the boats how they are, but while they are perfectly fall, they don’t match anything in our kitchen and are just a little bit too Texas A&M for this home. I wished they were more neutral so I can use them year round. I am thinking chocolate sauce for ice cream sandwich stacks, dressing for salads, and strawberry or caramel sauce for cheesecake.

I wished they were more neutral, so I made them that way. And here is what they look like when I got through with them.

Painting Ceramics: Rose Gold Handled Mini Gravy Boats www.gustoandgraceblog.com

For just over $1, I bought a small bottle of Martha Stewart Craft Paint in Rose Gold. I simply painted it on the handles and baked the boats for 30 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Baking the paint onto the ceramics will cure the paint and make it dishwasher safe. If you’re painting glass or ceramics, place them in the cool oven, let them pre-heat with the oven, and once it reaches 350 degrees, start your timer for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes has passed, turn off the oven let your painted pieces come back to room temperature while remaining in the oven. This can take several hours. Martha Stewart advises not to paint any surface that will come in contact with food. While to paint is non-toxic, it is not FDA approved as food-safe. She also advises waiting 72 hours after baking before use.

Share some of your Thanksgiving traditions!

9 Responses to “Painting Mini Gravy Boats”

  1. Caitlin 29 October 2013 at 10:14 AM #

    Those are perfect! I’m definitely going to use this technique

  2. Val 29 October 2013 at 9:55 PM #

    I’m headed to Tar-Zhay! LOVE this idea, Dominique! – Val

    • gusto&grace 8 November 2013 at 9:07 AM #

      Did you find some? Will you be painting yours too? If so, what color?

  3. S&C ETC. 13 November 2013 at 6:14 PM #

    Beautiful! Love your color choice.

  4. gusto&grace 8 November 2013 at 9:06 AM #

    Thank you so much for including my gravy boats on your list!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. how I spent my online time this week (11.02.13) | bex beltran - 2 November 2013

    […] the DIY category, I love how Dominique at Gusto and Grace transformed some pieces that didn’t really match her style to something that worked for her- and all it took was a little […]

  2. Thanksgiving Tablescape | Hello Homebody - 12 November 2013

    […] each place setting, I used white plates, red or purple bowls, silver napkins tied with plum ribbon, mini gravy boats I painted, and chalkboard place […]

  3. The Best of Gusto and Grace 2013 Edition | gusto & grace - 31 December 2013

    […] Thanksgiving. The menu was a huge success and my miniature-loving-self was thrilled to find some tiny gravy boats for the feast. I’ve really enjoyed decorating for Christmas, and making new traditions in […]

  4. Everyone Should Have a Good Waffle Recipe | gusto & grace - 7 January 2014

    […] the mini gravy boats I painted for Thanksgiving in the background? They’re perfect for […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

