New York City at Christmastime

3 Jan

The day after Christmas this year, I boarded a plane with my mom and my brother and spent “Christmas” with my sister and brother-in-law for the first year since they moved to New York.  Call us crazy, but we left on New Year’s Eve and I was back in Austin in time to give my husband a New Year’s kiss.

This trip, I didn’t do much in the way of exploration, but instead enjoyed being along for the ride, spending time with my mom and siblings. I snapped only a few photos.

Shake Shack New York CityAustin is set to get a Shake Shack later this year!

Empire State Building

Bergdorf Goodman Holiday Windows 2013 Holidays On Ice NYC www.gustoandgraceblog.comThis year, the theme for the Bergdorf Goodman Holiday Windows was Holidays On Ice. Each window was thematic to a specific holiday. The holidays featured included Valentine’s Day, Halloween, 4th of July (pictured above), April Fools Day. and Arbor Day. Smaller windows featured Groundhog’s Day, Mardi Gras, Thanksgiving, and New Year’s Eve.

If you are wanting to spend a part of the holiday season in New York City, let me suggest Thanksgiving to you. Last year, Anthony and I went at Thanksgiving and watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. The parade-watching crowd was far less dense than 5th Avenue after Christmas. The holiday windows were already decorated. Lines for ice skating rinks were not 3 hours long. We even made it to the Radio City Christmas Spectacular.

Heading to New York City? Check out a few of my favorite places.

How was your Christmas? What are your New Year’s resolutions?

5 Responses to “New York City at Christmastime”

  1. Damien Wijerathne 6 January 2014 at 5:07 AM #

    Beautiful photos…

  2. Heather 7 January 2014 at 2:52 PM #

    Gorgeous photos! I got a hot dog at that Shake Shack the first time I was in NYC 🙂 Can’t wait to go back! xo

    • gusto&grace 7 January 2014 at 4:52 PM #

      Heather, Thank you so much for your kind words! It was too cold to have custard when I was there this time, but I can’t wait to have Shake Shack custard again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. South By so far | gusto & grace - 14 March 2014

    […] I love their custard so much, I cannot tell you how many times I have eaten at Shake Shack when visiting my sister in New York City. […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

