Highlights of Savannah, Georgia

12 Apr

You can say Savannah had me at hello. I feel like every experience I had during my day trip from Charleston last summer was a touch of magic. Savannah filled me with wonder.

Our first stop was SCAD Museum of Art and I was sold. The words that come to mind are multisensory. Rashaad Newsome’s exhibit was auditory while visual while Ling Hongbo’s was visual and tactile. SCAD Museum of Art Colorful Rainbow Paper Guns and Bullets Exhibit

Looking to support some SCAD students? Shop SCAD is a cute boutique with student-filled works.

I am not exaggerating when I say that Chocolate by Adam Turoni is one of my favorite shops in the world.  Each shop is like a room in a fantastical house, the first I visited was a library, a chocolate library. Imagine: glass enclosed bookcases full of chocolate. The staff hands you trays reminiscent of old card catalog drawers. Each truffle or bar variety is labeled, in typewritten font, on library cards.  After visiting the first shop, I knew I had to also visit their second location.The second shop I visited was a dining room, that made you feel as if you had been personally invited to the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party. The chocolates themselves are no less whimsical. From a George Milies Trip To The Moon chocolate to a made to order creme brulee truffle, each piece is a handmade delight.

Adam Turoni Dining Room

 

Adam Turoni Library Typewriter Display

Chocolat by Adam Turoni Dining Room Sacannah GA

 

I keep a jar of memories, in the form of pressed pennies, and Leopold’s Ice Cream is where I found my smashed Savannah souvenir. I got that, and a cold and creamy scoop of Peanut Butter Chippy. Unfortunately, they weren’t scooping their seasonal Thin Mints & Cream. Savannah is where Girl Scouts, and those delicious cookies started, you know?

Leopold's Ice Cream Savannah

Savannah is also the backdrop for one of the greatest films of all time, Forrest Gump. Anthony and I were like peas and carrots walking across Chippewa Square. And that’s all I got to say about that.

Want more than just the highlights? Check out the map I made while planning the trip.

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

