Guest Room Refresh In Progress

25 May

You see, the thing about décor for me is that, while I love it, it isn’t typically a financial priority.  I’d rather pay down my mortgage than redo my kitchen, and I really really would love a new kitchen. I would rather take an annual trip or two than have my house decorated to the nines, and I sincerely enjoy having a nice home to come back to. Everyone has to make choices and these are mine.

That, my friends, is why my guestroom, while always ready to welcome out-of-town guests with fresh sheets and towels and a comfortable mattress, has been furnished with hand me down furniture for the past four years. I don’t think most people mean four years when they say good design takes time.  I have no excuses for it remaining beige for so long, on the other hand.

I finally decided it was time to sink a few dollars and a few hours into the guestroom. Here is how it looks today:

Calm and Colorful Bedroom

I’m still trying to decide on brass frames for the Yago Hortal prints I searched the world over for. Don’t mind the masking tape; just keepin’ it real. I still need to borrow my mom’s sewing machine to turn the handwoven fabric I picked up in Peru into a pillow (yep, just wrapped around a pillow right now).

You want a glimpse of the before?

Caramel and Burnt Orange Bedroom

It is pretty incredible what a coat of paint and a pair of matching nightstands can do. The only other thing I bought was the curtain rod below (at the West Elm Outlet). I pulled the duvet cover out of the linen closet and had the white Ikea curtains in another room.

Side note: the Louis Vuitton City Guides ^ are wonderful and probably the least expensive things in store!

NightstandsBench (not pictured) | Curtain Rod

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

