Still Reppin’ Cheap Art

25 May

Large scale art can be expensive, and while I’m still working on gathering basic furnishings and decor as a first-time home owner, art just hasn’t made its way up the priority list. Just because splurging on an original painting from my favorite artist isn’t in the cards right now, doesn’t mean I want barren walls.

I’ve loved Ashley Woodson Bailey‘s dark floral photographs since the first time I saw them. Some of my favorite designers, like Kristin Jackson and Christine Dovey, have used her photograph’s in their homes and clients’.

via The Hunted Interior

I’ve also loved Ellie Cashman‘s wallpaper designs, which I believe are based off of Dutch painter Cornelis van Spaendonck’s work, but I’m not sure I am ready to commit to a fully floral bathroom yet either.

via Cupcakes and Cashmere

The affordable compromise? Framed Ellie Cashman wallpaper samples. They probably won’t stay forever, but I LOVE them. This time, I spent the extra $12 and had custom black core mats cut at Hobby Lobby. I still opted for my trusty IKEA Ribba frames.

Ellie Cashman Wallpaper Prints Art Black Paint Bathroom

Looking for more inexpensive art inspiration? Check out my free printable watercolour Prada Marfa print, the $2 marble art I made, and how I upgraded my IKEA Ribba frames.

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

8 Responses to “Still Reppin’ Cheap Art”

  1. Found This Painted That 25 May 2015 at 3:25 PM #

    Best ideas come from no money, I always say! Love what you did.

    • gusto&grace 1 June 2015 at 12:49 PM #

      Thanks so much! Having a small budget definitely forces you to get creative.

  2. Dana 26 May 2015 at 1:11 PM #

    I have an obsession with wallpaper – love the Ellie Cashman collection!

  3. Rachael @ This is our Bliss 26 May 2015 at 10:38 PM #

    So beautiful!! Framing wallpaper or a sample of some is definitely on my project list now!

    • gusto&grace 1 June 2015 at 12:48 PM #

      Thank you! I am so glad the post could serve as inspiration in some small way. Let me know when you do. I’d love to see it.

  4. sewloveable 4 June 2015 at 7:37 PM #

    Gorgeous and fantastic ideas!!!!

  5. Jo 8 June 2015 at 5:41 AM #

    I think it’s genius and beautiful. Well done and definitely worth a place in anyone’s bag-‘o-tricks. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    • gusto&grace 8 June 2015 at 8:02 AM #

      Thank you so much! Loved seeing all the work you’re doing in your own home.

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

