Modern, White, Geometric Console

25 Mar

A majority of my home furnishings are hand me downs or Ikea pieces; all of which I am extremely grateful for, most of which I hope to upgrade slowly. This week, Anthony and I finalized design plans for a new media console we commissioned a friend to build. Swap number one!

The inspiration is a piece, pictured below, that I saw on one of the design blogs I follow. I fell in love with the piece immediately but the dimensions were wrong for our living room, and the price was not pleasing either. We also were not looking to buy a new console… White Gaultier Console The inspiration console is a lengthy 76 inches and a short 23 inches high, the same height as our current console. While there is not anything offensive about our current console it looks squatty with our 20 foot vaulted ceilings and does not do much in the way of hiding the unsightly cords with our TV mounted on the wall. Here’s our setup now:

Console Before www.gustoandgraceblog.com

Before spying the dream console, I considered adding legs to the old one, to give it the needed height. Hopefully Austin Craigslisters will find our old one as lovely and as practical as we have.

While contemplating the measurements of the custom console, I kept two spaces in mind: the living room, and the dining room. The piece is being purchased for the living room: shelves will neatly fit DVDs, out DVD player, and gaming consoles. I also sized it so it would comfortably fit in our dining room, and shelves could adjust to accommodate small appliances should we move the alphabet chest to a nursery use it as a buffet in the future.

Here are renderings of what the new console will look like: Custom Modern White Geometric Console www.gustoandgraceblog.com   Custom Modern White Geometric Console www.gustoandgraceblog.com

Building will commence soon! I am thrilled to have a custom piece in our home, and can hardly wait to bring home this piece of furniture. I will certainly upload photos when the new console makes its way into our home.

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

9 Responses to “Modern, White, Geometric Console”

  1. Kelli 25 March 2014 at 11:05 AM #

    How exciting–a custom piece! Looks amazing! Can’t wait to see it in your space!

    • gusto&grace 25 March 2014 at 11:06 AM #

      Thanks Kelli! A custom piece that saves money at that. I would never have guessed…

  2. Kelli 25 March 2014 at 11:31 AM #

    p.s. On Bloglovin now. 🙂

  3. brepurposed 27 March 2014 at 11:18 AM #

    That’s going to be amazing, I can’t wait to see it! I just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award! It helps new bloggers to connect. Take a look at my post below!

    -Bre
    http://brepurposed.com/2014/03/27/its-a-major-award-kinda/

    • gusto&grace 27 March 2014 at 2:56 PM #

      Bre, Thanks so much! How did you find my blog? I’ll have to poke around yours when I am not surfing from my phone.

      • brepurposed 27 March 2014 at 3:13 PM #

        I was just searching DIY on wordpress and came across your blog 🙂 Love your manifesto by the way!

  4. Lisa @ Shine Your Light 28 March 2014 at 11:12 PM #

    Dominique, how pretty and different is this vision you have for your new custom piece. I love where you are going for this space – the new console is going to be fabulous! Thanks for sharing on Best of the Nest!

  5. Jennifer Lippi (Decorating Delirium) 1 April 2014 at 6:36 PM #

    I love the idea! I have been wanting to build a console of my own so I will have to stay tuned to see how yours turns out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Living Room Lesson in Proportion | gusto & grace - 15 July 2014

    […] The console I talked about four months ago made it from DFW to Austin about a month ago, and it completely changed our home. Though Anthony might tell you I say that after every new project or purchase, this one really did. […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

