South By so far

14 Mar

I ignored the warnings. “Stay away from South By,” and “Don’t go near downtown!” are phrases I’ve heard from many an Austinite regarding the South By Southwest (SXSW) festival that happens every year in March.

I ignored the warnings, and I am so glad I did.

Instead of a typical Gusto & Grace project based post, I am going to write about all the things I’ve been doing instead of blogging. O0000000ops!

This week, I am following my own advice, and I hope that taking time to enjoy life will breathe inspiration into this blog.

Anthony and I may have had free Shake Shack burgers for dinner two nights in a row this week… Thanks Seth Meyers! While the truck is just here to feed hungry festival-goers, I am very excited about Shake Shack opening its first location in Austin later this year.

I love their custard so much, I cannot tell you how many times I have eaten at Shake Shack when visiting my sister in New York City.

#SXSW 2014, Austin, Texas #ShakeShack #SethXSW

We also attended a taping of Jimmy Kimmel Live. Rosario Dawson, Rick Perry, and Aloe Blacc were the guests.

Jimmy Kimmel Live in Austin #SXSW #KimmelInAustin

In the photo below, you see Jimmy Kimmel with Aloe Blacc and the UT Band. I love how “Meat” was deemed an appropriate neon sign for the Austin set…

Jimmy Kimmel Live in Austin #SXSW #KimmelInAustin

After the Jimmy Kimmel show on Tuesday, we headed to Airbnb Park, designed by Emily Henderson where I met none other than Emily herself. I had a little inner freak-out. The park was amazing. I hope to make it back this weekend to take a few photos in the daylight.

Emily Henderson with Dominique Paolini of Gusto & Grace Blog at #airbnb Park at #SXSW

I love all the pop-ups around this week. And this is going to happen again next year?! Austin is becoming a little more homey each day…

Please remember to keep the victims of the SXSW tragedy and their family in your prayers. If you’re local, consider donating blood.

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

One Response to “South By so far”

  1. mandylee@ladyandpups 31 March 2014 at 12:04 AM #

    oh man! that sounds like some fun time to have!!! How can this happen only once a year! I’d be so sad when it ends everytime…

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

