Nightstands: A Dramatic Before and After

14 Feb

Sometimes, I’m like the mouse in If You Give a Mouse a Cookie. If you don’t know the story, first the mouse is given a cookie. Then, of course, he needs a glass of milk to go with his chocolate chip cookie. In order to drink his milk, he needs a straw. And on it goes.

When I first met my husband, he didn’t have any bedroom lamps. I convinced him that it is only natural to go from overhead light, to a dimmer lamp before sleeping, so I bought him a pair of lamps. Then of course, he needed some nightstands to put his lamps on, so he picked up a pair from Ikea. Recently, I started to makeover the nightstands and realized we needed new lamps all over again. Hence the ticket-stub-filled-lamps. Now, I need a cookie.

One small project after another, our bedroom is slowly coming together (Check out a few of the others here and here).Without any further ado, I give you the dramatic difference in the nightstands now, the great before and after!

Ikea Nightstand Hack https://gustoandgrace.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/nightstands-before-and-after/

And after:

Ikea Nightstand Hack https://gustoandgrace.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/nightstands-before-and-after/

I am pleased with how they turned out and love the bright blue and navy combination. It is amazing what a few coats of paint on one piece of furniture can do for the entire room.

Ikea Nightstand Hack https://gustoandgrace.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/nightstands-before-and-after/

I simply primed the nightstands with bonding primer, painted them with a high-gloss version of the same navy latex paint on the wall, taped around the edges, and brushed on two coats of bright blue paint.

Ikea Nightstand Hack https://gustoandgrace.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/nightstands-before-and-after/

I didn’t concern myself with perfection on this project. When Anthony purchased these nightstands, he didn’t anticipate them being a permanent fixture. While the height of these nightstands is perfect they are just barely too wide to allow the bed to be exactly centered on the wide stripe, which is centered on the wall opposite the bed. For the time being, they are greatly improved.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

2 Responses to “Nightstands: A Dramatic Before and After”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Campaign-Style Frames | gusto & grace - 28 March 2014

    […] to “hack” my dining room frames lately. I opted to avoid the trendy campaign-style makeover for my nightstands, but still have a secret love affair with brass corner […]

  2. 2014 Home Project Goals Update | gusto & grace - 25 July 2014

    […] Repaint or replace nightstands. It is amazing what paint can do to inexpensive furniture. I found the perfect knobs at Anthropologie, and then they sold out before I pulled the trigger. See the befores here. […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

