A Pop of Color Goes a Long Way

24 Jan

Some of the best decorating decisions are the ones that scare you a little bit at first, the ones that are bold and daring. For instance, painting the bathroom black. Or, painting a giant monogram the brightest blue you can find.

I would consider myself a slow decorator. I start with a few things I love. I wait for a vision. Then I gather, v e r y s l o w l y. I will likely never be the blogger that writes posts like “5 easy ways to spruce up your living room this weekend.” I am becoming okay with my process. No, my home wasn’t perfectly decorated months after I moved in. It still isn’t. Yes, my black bathroom looks exactly the way it did in the photos I took so many months ago, with the addition of a few brass candlesticks, but Dallas Shaw breathed life into my vision the moment she revealed her dining room. I saw the photos and got that feeling you get when someone puts words to something you couldn’t quite figure out how to express. Vision, people, is key.

My bedroom also looks the same as it did when I painted it a few months ago, even though I have a can of high gloss paint and a faux bois finishing kit waiting to grace my nightstands. Well, it did look the same, until I made one small change. Remember how I said I wanted to bring in a bright blue, to make it a little less masculine? I took step one and added a small amount. And here it is:

Navy Bright Blue Bedroom www.gustoandgraceblog.com

Maybe for a person drawn to the neutral palette of Parisian apartments, it is more than a small amount of color… Just as a quick reminder, here is what it looked like before:

Master_Bedroom_After_Gusto_and_Grace

And way before:

Master_Bedroom_Before_Gusto_and_Grace

Next week, look for a Valentine’s DIY and another baby shower.

Thanks for reading,

Dominique

2 Responses to “A Pop of Color Goes a Long Way”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ticket Stubs + Fillable Lamps | gusto & grace - 11 February 2014

    […] the lamps were a little puny. They didn’t draw the eye up to our tall ceilings, faux canopy, giant, bright blue P, or do anything to help our space feel put together. Even though they were smaller than our new […]

  2. Nightstands: A Dramatic Before and After | gusto & grace - 14 February 2014

    […] after another, our bedroom is slowly coming together (Check out a few of the others here and here).Without any further ado, I give you the dramatic difference in the nightstands now, the great […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

