Image

Thanksgiving Menu 2013

8 Nov

Have you picked out your Thanksgiving menu this year?

In Martha’s Entertaining: A Year of Celebrations, Martha Stewart (or M. Stew, as my sister calls her) says, “I approach each holiday during the year as a pleasant challenge. I certainly am not of the “do it the same exact way” school of entertaining, …whereby every Thanksgiving is identical to the last and the one before that…. I am an enthusiast for change, for subtly altering the traditional to make it more interesting, more creative, more inventive. I am a firm believer that there are almost infinite choices for a single thing, such as the turkey.”

While I enjoy traditions and having a few of the same things each Thanksgiving, trying new recipes and new food is easily one of my favorite things. I’ve opted to swap some of the traditional Thanksgiving foods for a few festive alternatives.

Rather than mashed potatoes, I’ll be making goat cheese croquettes. Anthony and I had goat cheese tater tots at our rehearsal dinner, and fell in love with croquettes at the tapas bar we went to in Spain on our Honeymoon. Instead of cornbread, my husband has requested savory madelines.

Thanksgiving Menu 2013 www.gustoandgraceblog.com

When putting together the menu, I found it most difficult to control the carbs. Do we really need croissants, rolls, cornbread, stuffing, mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes?

Some of the recipes are hand-written in family recipe collections, and I will make up others  up as I go along, but here are links to recipes for a few of the items I included in my menu.

I’ll also be serving up mulled wine and cider. Desserts are still T.B.D. I am sure (well, not entirely sure) someone in the family will want pie. I am not much of a pie person myself and will probably opt to make a pumpkin cheesecake or a chestnut trifle. Roasting mallows in the cold and making s’mores also sounds perfect.

Look for some Thanksgiving tablescape ideas, from yours truly, on Hello Homebody next week!

What’s on your menu? What are some of your Thanksgiving traditions?

9 Responses to “Thanksgiving Menu 2013”

  1. shae pendleton 8 November 2013 at 10:40 AM #

    I love your spin on traditional Thanksgiving recipes (especially the addition of CHEESE)!

    • gusto&grace 12 November 2013 at 1:48 PM #

      I had several other cheesy recipes I wanted to add to the menu, like an aspargus gruyere tart instead of green beans, but didn’t want carb and cheese overload!

  2. Maryn 11 November 2013 at 5:34 PM #

    Yum, I’m coming to your house 😉 Think I just fell in love with that mac n’ cheese…

    • gusto&grace 12 November 2013 at 1:47 PM #

      I already tested the mac n’ cheese recipe. I used gouda instead of gruyere to cut down on the cost. Since it is just me and Anthony, I cut it in half and still had mac n’ cheese for days!

  3. Amber Housley (@AmberHousley) 19 November 2013 at 9:20 AM #

    Your menu sounds delicious! I’m particularly a fan of mulled wine! 🙂 Have a happy Thanksgiving!

    • gusto&grace 21 November 2013 at 2:40 PM #

      Thank you. Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Tablescape | Hello Homebody - 12 November 2013

    […] to fill a vase, brought out my gilded wood wedding menu which I am considering recreating for my Thanksgiving menu, wrote on my small chalkboard, and set it on top of my husband’s  Calvin and Hobbes […]

  2. Fall Tablescape | Simple Pleasures - 21 November 2013

    […] I’m so excited for Thanksgiving! I decided to take the week off (something I haven’t done in years) to just kick back and enjoy all the good things in life. I went to the gym yesterday (also have not done in years), so I think I bought myself a second helping of sweet potatoes and this drool-worthy mac n’ cheese spotted on this lovely blog. […]

  3. The Best of Gusto and Grace 2013 Edition | gusto & grace - 31 December 2013

    […] first year of marriage.  I loved hosting a large portion of both of our families for Thanksgiving. The menu was a huge success and my miniature-loving-self was thrilled to find some tiny gravy boats for the […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

