Anthropologie Inspired Christmas Ornaments

24 Sep

Maybe it’s a little early for a Christmas post, but I have certainly been thinking about it. I’ve already started Christmas shopping and been scoping out Christmas decor. I’ve gotten Christmas catalogs in the mail, joined a Christmas Countdown group on Facebook, and been dreaming up what Anthony’s and my first married Christmas will look like.

Between Anthony and I, we have three Christmas trees (and I got rid of one). We have a 7 foot tree, a 4 foot tree, and a 1 foot tree. I think the 4 foot and 1 foot trees are small enough to be themed each year (at least one of them). This year, the 4 foot tree will be silver and white and very natural. It will hold the Anthropologie mercury glass P ornaments that I used down our wedding aisle, bottlebrush animals we picked up after Christmas last year, and the water-less snow globe ornaments I’m making.

The ornaments I’m making are inspired by this salt shaker I picked up at the end of the season last year.

Image

With some clear glass bulbs, sandpaper, glue, bottlebrush trees, and faux snow, I put together a few of these.

Image

The 7 foot tree will hold all European blown glass ornaments I have been collecting for years and the new one we used as our wedding cake topper. Last year, the 1 foot tree was in my office (see it on Instagram) and was styled after a tree in the White House Garden Room. This year, I may theme it around a tree Anthony and I saw at the American Museum of Natural History on our Thanksgiving trip to New York last year. More on that in a later post.

Have you done any Christmas activities yet?

8 Responses to “Anthropologie Inspired Christmas Ornaments”

  1. emilygotta 24 September 2013 at 10:36 AM #

    These are so cute! And I think it’s always great to get a head start on holiday festivities. I made mason jar Christmas snow globes last season–very similar to these. Love imitating the Anthro look!

  2. Maryn 25 September 2013 at 10:34 AM #

    Love this! Can’t wait to see more of your holiday pics. Since we’ll be coming back to LA to celebrate the holidays, I don’t think I’ll decorate this year, but will live vicariously through you! 🙂

  3. shae pendleton 25 September 2013 at 11:05 AM #

    Those ornaments are so adorable!! I love getting inspiration from Anthro!

  4. camrynforrest57 26 September 2013 at 9:43 AM #

    Charming. I made snow globes, and recently I’ve been getting requests for holiday themes — not at all like my usual work. Being obstinate, I’ve been inspired to compromise: my first holiday-themed snow globe (not counting the robotic snowman “snowbot”) is titled “Oh, Tesla Tree!”
    I’ll be back to see how your decorations evolve.

  5. www.google.com 29 December 2013 at 12:43 PM #

    Hi!I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before
    but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking itt and checking back frequently!

    • gusto&grace 2 January 2014 at 4:13 PM #

      Thanks! I sure hope you will continue reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. O Christmas Trees! | gusto & grace - 3 December 2013

    […] silver garland, mercury glass P ornaments I used down the aisle at my wedding, silver sprays, and snow globe ornaments I made. It still needs a […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

