Chicken and Hatch Chile Casserole

30 Aug

Growing up, one of my favorite meals was poppy seed chicken. I still remember the first time I had it. We lived in Turkey at the time, and I was over at friends’ house for dinner. Their mom made it, and I think I ate half of the pan all by myself. I went home and raved about it and begged my mom to get the recipe. It’s a really quick, simple meal I think even the pickiest eaters would love.

After spying a can of cream of jalapeno soup in the grocery store, I now make a modified “grown-up” version for my husband and myself.

Creamy Chicken and Hatch Chile  Casserole  *www.gustoandgraceblog.com*Ingredients:

  • 1 hatch chile (a poblano will also do)
  • 2 cups chicken, cooked and diced
  • 1 can cream of jalapeno soup
  • 1 cup sour cream (I opt not to use a “dollop of Daisy” partially due to their obnoxious advertising)
  • 1/2 tube butter crackers (such as Ritz or Townhouse)
  • 2 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 Tbsp poppyseeds

Creamy Chicken and Hatch Chile Casserole *www.gustoandgraceblog.com*

First, roast your chile. I do this by broiling until it is nice and charred, about 15 minutes, turning it every 5 minutes. Then I place it in a ziploc bag so I can easily peel off the skin. Let the pepper cool, then de-seed it and peel of the skin. If you sealed the pepper in a plastic bag, this should be a cinch. Now dice it. In an 8 or 9 inch casserole dish, mix the soup and the sour cream. Stir in the cooked chicken and the chiles. Crush half a roll of crackers, such as Ritz, mix it with the melted butter and the poppy seeds. Cover the top of the soup-sour cream mixture with the crumbs. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes and serve over rice.

2 Responses to “Chicken and Hatch Chile Casserole”

  1. shae pendleton 30 August 2013 at 1:23 PM #

    I’ll have to try this! I could seriously make casseroles every single night of the week, and anything with jalapeños or chiles is always a hit with my husband!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy Cheesy Macaroni Casserole with Chicken & Veggies | momeefriendsli - 3 September 2013

    […] Chicken and Hatch Chile Casserole (gustoandgrace.wordpress.com) […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

