Light or Dark, Y’all?

19 Jul

While mulling over thoughts I could not quite put into words I asked Anthony for help. He said I should start this post with, “Our house is sad y’all. You know what makes it sad this time? Our cabinets.” I told him he made me sound like Paula Dean. Then he told me I should write the entire post in the voice of Paula Dean’s non-racist sister.

He groans very lovingly at my newest thoughts on redecorating: did you read the “this time”?  Maybe it has something to do with my deluge of ideas flowing toward a man that’s perfectly happy with our home just as it is.

That man makes me belly laugh. Even if our cabinets are sad, our home is happy.

Recently we updated our cabinet hardware. it was inexpensive, and it made a big difference. See the before on the left, and the after on the right.

Before and After Hardware

The next kitchen update will probably be painting or staining our cabinets, but I cannot decide between white or dark.

Kitchen

A little help? Vote below using your best Southern drawl.

Information that may affect your vote: down the line, we’d love to replace the appliances with stainless. And the backsplash has a good chance of getting canned too.

4 Responses to “Light or Dark, Y’all?”

  1. poeticday 19 July 2013 at 7:53 AM #

    What would go better with the rest of the style of your home? When I think of white cabinets, I think of Shabby chic, French/English Country, or Modern. When I think of dark wood cabinets, I think of Traditional, Tuscany, or Rustic.

    So what feel are you wanting your house to have? Also, I would suggest looking up a lot of images of both and hanging them up in your kitchen where you can see them for a week or so. That way whenever you walk into the room you can decide what feel you like better.

    I hope that helps! Good luck, it sounds like fun!

  2. poeticday 19 July 2013 at 7:54 AM #

    What would go better with the rest of the style of your home? When I think of white cabinets, I think of Shabby chic, French/English Country, or Modern. When I think of dark wood cabinets, I think of Traditional, Tuscany, or Rustic.

    So what feel are you wanting your house to have? Also, I would suggest looking up a lot of images of both and hanging them up in your kitchen where you can see them for a week or so. That way whenever you walk into the room you can decide what feel you like better.I hope that helps! Good luck, it sounds like fun!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Gilded Wood Menus | gusto & grace - 23 July 2013

    […] cabinet color vote is at exactly 50/50. Not helpful… Tell your friends to vote, just don’t tell them what […]

  2. Kitchen Makeover Preveal | gusto & grace - 17 September 2013

    […] when I asked you to vote on kitchen cabinet colors? I didn’t expect the vote to be a […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

