My Brother’s Family Workout Challenge

9 Jul

Below is an e-mail my brother sent to the whole family, as a challenge to us all. Read it and laugh, but then take it very seriously.

I’m throwing the gauntlet down. If you were wondering the origin of the phrase, a knight would literally take off his shiny metal glove and throw it at the feet of another to challenge him to a duel. If you weren’t wondering the origin of the phrase, I don’t care. I love random facts. Thank me for making you smarter.

Anyway, this duel is not for the faint of heart. And not for those full of bullsh*t excuses. The challenge is a 60-day challenge. Before you tell me you are too busy, you have a new job, you’re too tired, let me tell you something. I don’t really care. Actually, I really don’t care. This is a wellness challenge. Wellness is a white-person word like awareness, which I loathe, so make it fitness challenge.

Here are the terms:

  • Eat Clean
  • Workout somehow everyday
  • Don’t not do this
  • Don’t quit doing this
  • Take a before picture
  • Take an after picture
  • Text someone doing this everyday
  • Keep everyone accountable
  • Ridicule cheaters and whiners mercilessly
  • Become a healthier (read sexier) you
  • Don’t give me excuses
  • Write a new reason why you should every day

Clean eating is up to your discretion, but if you aren’t committed, don’t bother. If you have questions about what I am doing for clean eating and/or the bare minimum for me to respect your commitment, just ask. There will always be 1 millions reasons not to do this. You can be the you you are today. Or you can be the you you want to be. It’s never too late. Google old ripped guys- that will lower your self esteem to levels beyond shame.

This isn’t fancy.

Your loving brother who didn’t cuss in this anymore than he felt necessary because he loves his mother,

Ryne

As much as you may be tempted after reading his message, do not Google old ripped men at work. You will get stares.

Monday begins the 60 days. I’m going to break the 8+ weeks down into two week segments. Every two weeks, I’ll weigh in, take another snapshot, assess my progress, and commit my willpower to different tests.

The first two weeks I’ll:

  • limit myself to two cheat meals per week
  • commit to not phoning it in while “working out somehow” for at least 30 minutes twice per week
  • replace at least one meal weekly with fresh fruit and vegetable juice
  • eliminate fast food and sugary processed foods (with the exception of cheat meals)

I’ll begin with workouts I’m familiar with, like Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred. If you’ve got any healthy eating or fitness tips, please comment below.

Check back in to follow my progress and hear my first 14 reasons. If I am brave, I might even share my before.

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

