Honeymoon Inspired Spaghetti Carbonara

28 Jun

One of the best meals I had on our honeymoon was in Florence, Italy in the Piazza di Santa Croce. I ate a plateful of Spaghetti Carbonara and finished the afternoon meal with tiramisu. Wanting to relive our honeymoon in a small way, I made Spaghetti Carbonara for dinner Sunday.

Here are a few photos from that meal in Florence:

Image

Image

TiramisuSince we got our KitchenAid Pasta-Extruder Attachment, we have probably eaten more fresh, delicious pasta than we should. We use it making 2 cups of flour, 3 eggs, and just a dash of salt, olive oil, and leftover whey from making fresh mozzarella (water or more oil is an adequate substitute). In our attempts, we’ve learned that the key to pasta that will cook firmly and not taste floury is kneading, kneading, and more kneading.  

Spaghetti

After you press your fresh pasta it is crucial that you lay it on towel. This keeps it from sticking together and stretching when you pick it up.

Fresh Pasta

I used the New York Times Spaghetti Carbonara recipe. If you’re using fresh pasta, I would recommend using less pancetta than called for, so you can taste the pasta.

Love vs. Design Recipe Card

Since it was such a hit with the husband, wrote it out on one of these printable recipe cards from Love vs. Design. Unfortunately, my recipe book disappeared in the move to Austin. I’m trying to remember and rewrite as many recipes as I can, but that was years of collecting and creating.

The Spaghetti Carbonara turned out great. It was a lot less yellow than the one I ate in Florence. More egg yolks, maybe?

Spaghetti Carbonara Inspired by Honeymooning

Spaghetti Carbonara Bites

3 Responses to “Honeymoon Inspired Spaghetti Carbonara”

  1. Debbie 28 June 2013 at 10:10 AM #

    It looks SOOOO yummy……

  2. Holly Sweetman (@MyScuttle) 11 July 2013 at 3:27 PM #

    Oh my gosh! My husband and I went on our anniversary trip to Florence last year and I ate spaghetti carbonara every lunch! This post makes me miss it so so much. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    xoxo
    Holly

    • gusto&grace 11 July 2013 at 4:18 PM #

      Holly,
      If only I could live travelling… Florence is amazing, isn’t it? Italians sure know a thing or two about food. My husband and I are on a huge fresh-pasta-making kick. Let me know if you try out the recipe and how it compares to your Florence Carbonara. 🙂 Thanks for taking time to comment.

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

