And Sixpence in Her Shoe

25 Jun

“Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue…” Most people, especially non-British brides, stop the rhyme there. Did you know it goes on to say, “and a sixpence in her shoe”?

According to The Knot, “Something old represents continuity; something new offers optimism for the future; something borrowed symbolizes borrowed happiness; something blue stands for purity, love, and fidelity; and a sixpence in your shoe is a wish for good fortune and prosperity.”

While I think that blessed marriages come from a lot more than rhymes and customs, why would I leave off the last part?

I didn’t.

My “something old” was a pair of shoes I splurged on, just after paying off my student loans, when I walked into Neiman Marcus and saw the designer there signing them. Maybe they aren’t quite old (my something borrowed and my sixpence were much older), but they were the only part of my wedding attire that was not purchased specifically for that day.

Something Old

My something new was my dress (though my veil, garter, and the necklace Anthony bought me were all new too).

Something New

My something borrowed came from my sister/matron-of-honor. A day or two before the wedding she asked me if I had something borrowed. I didn’t. She also asked me if I had earrings. I didn’t. She came to my rescue with a pair of vintage earrings that matched my necklace perfectly.

Something Borrowed

I put much more thought into my something blue than my something borrowed. A few months before the wedding I ordered blue clothing labels that read, “April 27, 2013 Gannoe-Paolini Wedding.” The tags came in multiples, so Anthony got one for each piece of his suit and some family members have our wedding date sewn into the clothing they wore that day.

Something Blue

The sixpence, from 1929 was ordered from Etsy. After misplacing the one I ordered, I almost used one from the 1940s that had been my stepdad’s grandfather’s from his travels. The night before the wedding, I found the one I purchased, and opted to use it so I would not lose such an irreplaceable heirloom.

A Sixpence in Her Shoe

All images, with the exception of the sixpence, were taken by Jeremy and Kristin Photography.

2 Responses to “And Sixpence in Her Shoe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Collected Neutral Bathroom Decor | gusto & grace - 27 August 2013

    […] I got a sweet deal on these John Derian plates! I think the shadow puppets depicted on the plates are expert level. Give that bunny a whirl. With more help from my sister, John Derian signed “Dream Big, Live Bigger,” on the back of one of them. That is what is inscribed in my TCU class ring and also what Manolo Blahnik signed on the bottom of my wedding shoes. […]

  2. The Best of Gusto and Grace 2013 Edition | gusto & grace - 31 December 2013

    […] my wedding at a glance, watch our video.  You can also check out what I did to follow the “Something Old” wedding tradition. Some of my favorite DIY projects from the big day were my invitation […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

