Powder Bath Progress

21 Jun

When I was 11 or so, my bedroom was yellow. Not a pale, creamy yellow, not a mustard yellow, it was canary yellow, or YELLOW! as my mom called it. I picked it, and I liked it (at the time).  The theme song to my bedroom quickly became Corey Hart’s Sunglasses at Night. Fast-forward a few years, and my parents were thrilled to help me repaint my bedroom blue.

When I had the paint chip in my hand at the home improvement store, I was confident I’d like dark walls in our powder bathroom (all because I noticed a trend on my Pinterest board). When I saw the mixed can of near black liquid, I questioned my own judgment. My thoughts were, “What will my mother say about this color?” and, “Will the powder bathroom have a theme song?”

Hesitantly, I brought the paint home, and started covering the walls. Hoping my husband wouldn’t hate it, uncertain I’d like it myself, I felt daring.

Before

Before I moved in, before Anthony and I were even engaged, I took down the builder grade mirror, and replaced it with the one pictured above, which was (flipped horizontally) above my headboard at home. Small improvement.

After

After

I love the black walls and the progress, but the room is still lacking decor. I’m on the hunt for:

Black and Gold

Why didn’t anyone tell me how difficult it is to paint behind a toilet? Are there tricks? Any suggestions for a theme song?

4 Responses to “Powder Bath Progress”

  1. Mom 21 June 2013 at 7:27 AM #

    Your mom thinks it looks amazing and has ALWAYS admired your daring side!

    • gusto&grace 21 June 2013 at 9:10 AM #

      Thanks, mom. Can’t wait for you to see it in person.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Newly Navy and Grey Bedroom | gusto & grace - 12 November 2013

    […] learned from our powder bathroom, that textured walls in dark colors should be painted with flat paint, nothing else. The navy […]

  2. A Pop of Color Goes a Long Way | gusto & grace - 24 January 2014

    […] are the ones that scare you a little bit at first, the ones that are bold and daring. For instance, painting the bathroom black. Or, painting a giant monogram the brightest blue you can […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

