A Scoop of My Favorite Ice Creameries and a Chocolate Hazelnut Recipe

13 Jun

I would eat ice cream in the snow. That is how much I love the milky, melty dessert.  I don’t discriminate between gelato, custard, or frozen yogurt either.

Walking through Anthropologie last week, I found these ceramic ice cream cones. I had to pick up a couple since I have been drooling over the Virginia Sin version, which cost three times as much, since I saw them. Then of course, I had to break out my ice cream maker and create something that would give my new dishes a purpose.

Gusto and Grace: Chocolate Hazelnut Ice Cream

Since I have not made much ice cream, I searched for recipes from the best ice cream makers I know: Jeni’s and lick. My favorite local place for lunch, Royal Blue, introduced me to Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream in the form of a macaron ice cream sandwich. I was bewitched.  Anthony and I went to lick by accident when exploring Austin. If you find yourself in the Capital of Texas, GO! They had me swooning at salted caramel and melting over their Goat Cheese, Thyme and Honey variety.

I could not find anywhere lick had given away their secrets, but I did find a recipe for Jeni’s Ice Cream Base. I used that, and flavored it chocolate hazelnut.

Gusto and Grace Chocolate Hazelnut Ice Cream

Here’s the recipe:

Chocolate Hazelnut Ice Cream
(makes about 1 quart)

2 cups milk
4 tsp. cornstarch
1 1/2 cups heavy cream
2/3 cup sugar
2 tbsp. light corn syrup
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
3 tbsp. cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup chocolate hazelnut spread (I used pralinutta since my crazy husband doesn’t like nutella)

In a small bowl, stir together 1/4 cup milk and the cornstarch; set aside. In a saucepan (3-qts was plenty big), whisk together the remaining milk, 1 1/4 cups cream, sugar, corn syrup, and salt; bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Cook for 4 minutes; stir in milk-cornstarch mixture. Return to a boil and cook, stirring, until thickened, about 2 minutes. Place cream cheese in a bowl and pour in 1/4 cup hot milk mixture; whisk until smooth. Slowly whisk in the remaining milk mixture. In a small bowl (in the microwave) or in a small saucepan (on the stove), melt the chocolate hazelnut spread and mix with the remaining cream. Mix the milk base and the chocolate sauce together. Pour the mixture into a large plastic bag; seal, and submerge in a bowl of ice water until chilled. (You can also refrigerate it in the container of your choice, however using a bag in and ice bath is the fastest cooling method). Once cool, pour into an ice cream maker and mix per the manufacturer’s instructions. I had it in my KitchenAid Ice Cream Maker Attachment for about 20 minutes. Transfer the soft ice cream to a storage container and freeze until set. I let mine firm up overnight. Scoop. Lick. Repeat.

Maybe once I perfect Jeni’s base, I’ll swap the cream cheese for some goat cheese. And maybe Anthony and I can take a short roadtrip to Blue Bell. #icecreamdreams

5 Responses to “A Scoop of My Favorite Ice Creameries and a Chocolate Hazelnut Recipe”

  1. Erin Hedrick 16 September 2013 at 12:53 PM #

    Looks delicious!

  2. ctw24 27 September 2013 at 10:47 AM #

    We live in Columbus and are frequent customers to Jeni’s 🙂 I’m sure this recipe is delicious.

    • gusto&grace 27 September 2013 at 10:49 AM #

      We’ve got a couple of small grocery stores here that carry Jeni’s ice cream. It is so yummy! I hope I make it to one of her shoppes, or one of her shoppes makes it to Austin.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sprinkles Ice Cream and Cupcake ATM | gusto & grace - 10 September 2013

    […] Posts: Homemade Choclate Hazelnut Ice Cream, Rice Krispie Treat Ice Cream […]

  2. The Best of Gusto and Grace 2013 Edition | gusto & grace - 31 December 2013

    […] cooking repertoire. Until then, the Potato Chip Macaroons with Pop Rock Ganache, Tiramisu, and Hazelnut Chocolate Ice Cream remain my favorite blogged-about […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

