Throwback Thursday: That Old Couch

30 May

One of my favorite parts of my new life is nesting. Since Anthony and I started dating, what I’ve recently dubbed “The Estate” has changed dramatically. Since we have been married, The Estate has changed even more. Take the old couch pictured below as an example. Anthony had not one, but TWO of those poufy, tan guys in the living room.

Image

Then

One of Anthony’s old roommates now has the couches and we inherited Anthony’s parents’ old couch (pictured below) and moved it down from Fort Worth when my furniture migrated. Upgrade!

Image

Now

Of course eventually, Anthony and I want to choose couches of our own (I’d like something with tufting and a style similar to this, this, or this), but we are incredibly grateful for how much hand-me-downs and wedding presents have helped make our together home cozy.

I want to make our home into a safe place filled with love. I want the things we bring inside our home to be beautiful, practical and reflective of us. I hope everyone will come stay in our guestroom and share our version of home with us. My new brother, sister-in-law, and nephew will be coming in town this weekend and will be our first houseguests!

Maybe because I shifted from wedding blogs straight to home decor blogs, or maybe because I am nosey and in need of inspiration – I wonder how home-making is going for all of my newlywed Fort Worth friends… (Or even those who have been married for a while. Or even my single friends with adorably decorated apartments and houses).

Be on the lookout for more upgrades we’ve made and others we have in the pipeline.

6 Responses to “Throwback Thursday: That Old Couch”

  1. Found This Painted That 31 May 2013 at 11:08 AM #

    Your three choices are stunning! I have a desire for a tufted couch myself. Sigh, so beautiful.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playing House: DIY Ombre Barstools | gusto & grace - 7 June 2013

    […] In the market for barstools, our search was not as fruitful as we had hoped. Anthony and I wanted backs on our barstools, but liked the look and style of most backless ones more. I have been swooning over barstool benches but after seeing their hefty price tag, we both agreed if we were going to spend that much dough, we would rather have a  new couch. […]

  2. Christmas in July and My New House | gusto & grace - 16 July 2013

    […] maybe I can’t afford that tufted couch for my living room or that SMEG fridge for my kitchen, but there is no reason my dollhouse cannot […]

  3. 2014 Home Project Goals Update | gusto & grace - 25 July 2014

    […] Buy throw pillows for the couch. While I haven’t featured this simple update on the blog, there are now pillows on our once barren sofa. […]

  4. gusto & grace - 5 September 2014

    […] seen a few angles when I posted about our console and can see how far it has come when you look at our couches, and maybe you even sneaked a peak at Christmas, but otherwise has been intentionally left a […]

  5. A Couch to Call Our Own | gusto & grace - 17 April 2015

    […] our temporary teal couch and my near break-up with my favorite store, Anthropologie, later, look at how far this room has come! From the poufy tan sofa that made me cringe, to the brown leather hand-me down that served us well […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

