The Oscars and Oz

8 Feb

Movie-watching is a new love for me. Donald Miller opens his book Blue Like Jazz with a quote that has always stuck with me. He wrote, “Sometimes you have to watch somebody love something before you can love it yourself. It is as if they are showing you the way.” When Anthony and I first met, he was appalled that I had not seen Indiana Jones or Jurassic Park (now, I’ve seen both). Sometimes, when we walk out of a theater and I ask him what he thought, I just think to myself, “You’re the audience every writer, producer, and director hopes for.” He picks up on things I didn’t even see, little messages and nuances seemingly hidden in the stories.

Last February, Anthony and I started what I would like to think will be a tradition. A couple of weeks before the Oscars, AMC hosts what they call the Best Picture Showcase: marathon events replaying the films nominated for best picture. This year, Anthony and I will be watching 5 of this year’s 9 films on the 23rd. I have a new-found love for watching the Oscars (now that I actually know enough to form my own opinion on what should win). Before, it was like watching a football game, and not caring about either team. It’s just not the same.  I am convinced The Best Picture Showcase is one of the greatest movie-watching events. It had no rivals until two weeks ago… Gusto & Grace-Oz with Orchestra When I heard about Oz with Orchestra last summer, I hoped my mom wouldn’t mind that I bought her a birthday present she couldn’t use for six months: tickets to the show. My mom has loved the movie for as long as I can remember. In 1939, a year widely considered one of the best in Hollywood history, the film won both best original score and best song. I suppose that is reason enough for the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra to select it as a piece for their Pops Series.

As you can see in the picture, we watched the film, music removed, with the symphony playing the score live. Ah! If every movie could be watched this way… I am looking forward to watching the new Oz movie this summer, but unless the movie theater aisles transform into a yellow brick road, I think I’ve experienced Oz at it’s best. I am over the rainbow.

What’s your favorite way to watch a movie? In theaters? At home? Before or after reading the book?

2 Responses to “The Oscars and Oz”

  1. Mom 8 February 2013 at 6:26 PM #

    Oh, I thought you were going to say you loved the Wizard of Oz more after watching how much I loved the experience you had given for my birthday… It was indeed a thoughtful gift and much better than I anticipated. Many thanks to you and the Paolinis for accompanying me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ticket Stubs + Fillable Lamps | gusto & grace - 11 February 2014

    […] City, with the number we took when waiting in line to get our marriage license, with tickets to Oz with Orchestra I bought to celebrate my mom’s birthday, and Fitz and the Tantrums tickets I won on the […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

