He Got On One Knee

14 Aug

Anthony picked me up from work on Friday, August 3rd. My stepdad was working on my car, and Anthony was in town because he had the day off. Earlier in the day Anthony had asked me if I wanted to try any new restaurants for dinner (he knows how much I love doing that). I named two places, but we ended up settling on another. I suggested we go straight from work but Anthony said he wanted to go to my house where he had forgotten his new camera.

As soon as I walked into the house I thought, “It smells strangely like flowers in here.” Then I opened my bedroom door and understood why. I was up to my knees in balloons and there were dozens (and dozens) of white flowers everywhere. I turned around and he was on one knee. The moment was such a blissful blur. I don’t remember much of what he said, but I knew he was asking me to marry him. I said yes!

Once I agreed to become is wife, he handed me a little black lock-box: a little something for me to open on our wedding day. I’m sure he did it because he knows it will drive me crazy until April 27th (also because he is sweet and thoughtful, creative and romantic). He proceeded to tell me that he had made previously made reservations for Ellerbe’s, one of the two restaurants I suggested earlier. We dined and celebrated for two hours!  The evening felt so surreal.

I don’t think I could have picked a ring for myself that I love more! He worked with Bario-Neal to customize it. The rose gold, the champagne diamonds, the etching: his doing. My (other) best friend later told me she thought that I had picked the ring. After telling her I hadn’t she said, “He knows you so well.” What a symbol of his love!

Anthony went to such great lengths to make the proposal a surprise. He met me for lunch in the middle of the day after talking to my parents in the morning with plans to prepare the proposal after lunch. I couldn’t have kept such a secret, or such a straight face!

I’m so thrilled to be marrying him. I feel as if, before he proposed, he “married” himself to me. He asked himself the tough questions. He made the commitment. He took the risk. He said yes, all before asking me to. I am loving and enjoying this fiancée phase. What a sweet 9 months we will have of planning and preparation for a lifelong marriage.

 

3 Responses to “He Got On One Knee”

  1. courtney copeland 15 August 2012 at 12:00 AM #

    Dom! i’m so excited for you! miss you! love you!

  2. Maryn 29 April 2014 at 4:59 PM #

    This is seriously one of the best rings I’ve seen and such a sweet story. Good job Anthony!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas in July and My New House | gusto & grace - 16 July 2013

    […] reminding you of this little gem of a proposal. Second most romantic proposal ever. Nothing beats how my husband proposed, of […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

