A Malted Chocolate Cake for Mom

21 Jul

Growing up, my mom always made us, my brother, my sister and me, a homemade birthday cake. With the exception of her own Dairy Queen ice cream cake tradition, store bought cakes seemed like an abomination to birthdays in our home. Each year, she would ask us what flavor and what theme we wanted our cakes to be. I remember Little Mermaid cakes, Beauty and the Beast cakes, Lisa Frank cakes, Barbie cakes, and many more (on channel four, and Scooby Doo on channel two). I used to sit beside her in the kitchen and watch in awe as she so neatly decorated. I also used to lick the bowls and eat the extra frosting, like any good helper would do.

Little Mermaid Cake

In recent years, I have begun making the family birthday cakes. How this greatly important task got passed on to me, I’m not sure, but I sure am grateful. Yesterday was her birthday, but today we are celebrating. She doesn’t prefer to be asked what kind of cake she wants or if she wants a theme. She leaves it up to me. This year the inspiration came easily. My mom loves malts, and malt balls, but only Hershey’s Whoppers. Behold, a Malted Chocolate Cake with Malted Frosting and Ganache. You can find the recipe I used here. The only change I made was spray painting (with food coloring of course) the Whoppers gold. Next time I might use a plain chocolate cake, but the frosting was incredible.

My mom always made our birthdays very special and important days. I hope her day is special. I hope she feels important and loved. Today we will have birthday brunch and birthday cake for breakfast. Happy birthday, Mom.

Wish my mom a happy birthday or tell me some of your favorite birthday traditions: leave a comment!

One Response to “A Malted Chocolate Cake for Mom”

  1. Geraldine 21 July 2012 at 5:34 PM #

    I’m sure your Mom loved the cake!! 🙂

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

