Chair-ity Project

29 Jun

I hate my boyfriends dining room set. I don’t even think hate is a strong enough word. I tell him how ugly it is at least once a week. Last weekend his parent’s moved and bestowed upon him a small antique dining set. Much to my chagrin, he initially brushed off the offer saying he didn’t like chairs any better than his current ones.  After picking my jaw up off the floor, I said “He’ll take ’em!” The fact of the matter is that the chairs from the antique set have a very 80’s hunter, burgundy and gold striped fabric on them. It by no means compliments the dark wood. I might even agree with him. They aren’t much, if any, better looking than the chairs that sit in his dining room now. BUT, the beauty of them lies in their potential, which I recruited my handy and talented mom to help me bring out.

This is what he currently has:

Here is the before:

Not cute, right? But when I look at them I envision linen covered cushions and I can’t help but get excited. Think: Restoration Hardware meets antique boutique. Stay tuned for the after!

2 Responses to “Chair-ity Project”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Big Reveal « gusto & grace - 1 February 2013

    […] these chairs? The ones Anthony’s parents gave us when they were moving out of the house he grew up […]

  2. Playing House: DIY Ombre Barstools | gusto & grace - 7 June 2013

    […] just about every nook in our house, our kitchen/dining room is undergoing a slow makeover. The dining set replacement and reupholstery did wonders, but the room was still bare and […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

