Laundry is Less of a Chore

18 Jul

I wish I had a good before picture of our laundry room.

You are not missing much, but I will paint you a mental picture: exactly the same as the images below, but beige, with no storage.

The laundry room was one of the first rooms I painted in the house. I thought the colors felt clean and the fun stripes might make doing laundry a little bit less of a chore. We picked up the wire shelves from Target and had just those, side by side, until about a month ago.

Laundry Room Cabinet

 
We took the cabinet out of the upstairs bathroom and hung the cabinet when we installed crown moulding.

Striped Laundry Room with Cabinet

 
Less than five minutes after these photos were snapped I loaded up the shelves with small and rarely used appliances that were consuming half of my pantry space.

It feels so good to have storage where we needed it.

Do you have any projects planned for this weekend?

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

7 Responses to “Laundry is Less of a Chore”

  1. Savvy Darling 18 July 2014 at 7:15 pm #

    I LOVE the Stripe color you chose! Totally wished you had done your laundry room before me, that way I would have had some inspiration. I’m still not finished with my laundry room yet, so there is still hope!! Fantastic job!

    • gusto&grace 21 July 2014 at 12:28 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words! Do you have any photos of your laundry room so far? I’d look to take a peek.

      • Savvy Darling 21 July 2014 at 12:39 pm #

        I do! My blog is being updated at the moment, so I don’t know what kind of format you will see when you view it!? I will let you know when my update is complete!

        It’s not as cute at yours though! I can tell you that much!!!!! Yours is adorable!

  2. Catherine 18 July 2014 at 10:50 pm #

    Love the stripes! How did you do them? I’ve seen so many different tips for preventing paint bleeding…

    • gusto&grace 21 July 2014 at 12:25 pm #

      Catherine, I painted the entire wall Gray, then measured the stripes and drew lines using a yardstick and a pencil and freehanded the stripes. I wouldn’t recommend this for a large space, but for the one small room, I am VERY pleased with how it turned out- no bleeding touchups needed!

  3. Annabode. 24 July 2014 at 12:29 pm #

    Love the stripes, love the color! Have you thought about painting the cabinet as well? Either the yellow, or another bright color, I think would look fabulous. Great job!

    • gusto&grace 25 July 2014 at 10:11 am #

      I didn’t think of that. What a fun idea to consider! I actually painted it white from orangey-wood, and while it is a major improvement even just having a cabinet here, I am not particularly thrilled with that shade of white.

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,001 other followers

