A Living Room Lesson in Proportion

15 Jul

Until a month ago, I had no idea the transformative power a single piece of furniture could wield.

The console I talked about four months ago made it from DFW to Austin about a month ago, and it completely changed our home. Though Anthony might tell you I say that after every new project or purchase, this one really did.

All of a sudden, our living room, filled with hand me down seating and an outlet store rug, has a personality and style.

While I think the ultra modern console alone is a poor reflection of my decorating style, pair it with some French traditional chairs and this living room has pegged my idea of interior perfection.

I also think this console is a lesson in how important scale and proportion are in design.

I’ll hush now, and let the before and after speak for themselves.

Console Before www.gustoandgraceblog.com

White Modern Geometric Console

If my husband was a blogger, I am sure this post would have more to do with his upgrade from a sound bar to a stereo system. He might tell you jokes about how many Paolinis it takes to install a sound system. Brilliance is brightest at 1am on a worknight in this case.

In the spirit of preemptive updates (as I gave with this console in March), mid-September it will be out with the brown leather chair and in with the Belgian linen chairs. An exciting order has been placed and I can hardly wait to share more!

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

 

3 Responses to “A Living Room Lesson in Proportion”

  1. Maryn 15 July 2014 at 3:53 pm #

    SO good. Jonathan Adler eat your heart out.

  2. Savvy Darling 17 July 2014 at 8:52 am #

    Love your blog and thanks for stopping by mine! P.S. That entertainment stand is to die for!! It’s gorgeous!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. gusto & grace - 5 September 2014

    […] room has never been featured in full on the blog. You’ve seen a few angles when I posted about our console and can see how far it has come when you look at our couches, and maybe you even sneaked a peak at […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 996 other followers

