A DIY I Didn’t Do Myself: Crown Moulding

11 Jul

I finally crossed one of the big items off the to-do short list I made for the home earlier this year. When some of my family came to visit in June, they brought power tools and helped around our home.

My stepdad, husband, and brother-in-law hung crown moulding in our dining room and kitchen. I really expected to have more of a hand in that, but the guys were doing such a great job, so my mom, sister and I worked on smaller projects: hemming curtains, re-painting wall art, and hanging pictures.

It was an enormous blessing and I really enjoyed having their company and assistance for a few looming projects.

This corner is my first or second favorite of the whole house. If you notice, I’ve even added a few more plates since last week.

Green Dining Room Crown Moulding

The kitchen hasn’t been seen on the blog in awhile. I think the last time was just after we painted the cabinets. Nothing has changed at all. Someday I won’t have floor tiles as my backsplash, but this blog focuses on celebrating progress, not just completion.

I should have taken the time to pull the tripod out of the closet, so you don’t get the vantage point of a 5’4″ woman. There really is about a foot between the cabinets and the ceiling. Next time.

Kitchen Crown Moulding

This next shot makes the beige walls blare, but I haven’t been inspired by any paint colors or wall coverings for this whack space where three rooms share walls.

I think this hallway is particularly camera shy, as it has never shown its face on the web, but it wears the chunky 5 1/4 inch crown moulding proudly.

Hallway Crown Moulding

Shhh! Don’t tell my husband that now the baseboards have been crying out to compete…

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

 

4 Responses to “A DIY I Didn’t Do Myself: Crown Moulding”

  1. Maryn 11 July 2014 at 11:11 am #

    Ahh…looks beautiful! You are going to have to give me the grand tour on Saturday. I love what you said here, “this blog focuses on celebrating progress, not just completion.” *hand clap*

  2. Robin + Rose Design 11 July 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    Found your blog through pinterest… I love that little corner of your home! Is that green cabinet from IKEA? If it is, it’s been catching my eye every time I go… I have to keep reminding myself that I don’t have any space for it!

    • gusto&grace 12 July 2014 at 9:18 am #

      Thanks for stopping by! It is from IKEA! They have it in several colors, but I love how retro the mint feels. I think it’d also be great in a bathroom with towels, soaps, and sponges.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2014 Home Project Goals Update | gusto & grace - 25 July 2014

    […] Install crown moulding in the dining room. This was finished about a month ago. You can read about that here. […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,001 other followers

