Paris Shops

23 May

 

Admittedly, I didn’t do much shopping in Paris. I did make an effort to got into a few small boutiques and one monstrosity of a department store to find a unique souvenir to remind me of my travels.

I cannot think of Paris and shopping together without thinking of Hermes and Chanel.

Hermes #Paris France | www.gustoandgraceblog.com

 

Like I said in my post about French food, I think Galleries Lafayette is a must especially if you are on a tight schedule.  It is a department store like none I have ever seen. Pastries, clothes, toys, a beautiful building, and a rooftop view of the city. What more could you want? It really is a one-stop shop.

Galleries Lafayette #Paris | www.gustoandgraceblog.com

 

After seeing the Parisian shop Merci all over blogs and Pinterest, I put it on our unending list of places to go. When we got to the address, I thought we had somehow come to the wrong Merci. From the street it looks like a coffee shop, but if you make your way to the back of the coffee shop, or walk through the alley pictured below, it opens up to an expansive store. Think Anthropologie meets West Elm- and then take it down a notch to keep your expectations in check.

Merci #Paris, France | www.gustoandgraceblog.com

Merci #Paris | www.gustoandgraceblog.com

Merci Neon Light #Paris | www.gustoandgraceblog.com

 

Of the few stores we stopped in, Astier de Villatte was by far my favorite. Astier de Villatte is a ceramic shop filled with  unique black terracotta pieces entirely handmade in Paris.

Astier de Villatte #Paris | www.gustoandgraceblog.com

 

Currently, they have a collaboration with John Derian.

john derian for astier de villatte #Paris | www.gustoandgraceblog.com

 

I was a huge fan of the ship shaped chandelier hanging above the cash register.

Ship Shaped Chandelier | www.gustoandgraceblog.com

 

I purchased a tiny silver Eiffel tower necklace from a touristy souvenir shop in Versailles and a white crest shaped platter with a black ship on in from Astier de Villatte. I have a terrible habit of picking up unique plates to use as wall decor.  I will share photos once I figure out how to hang it up.

Do you collect anything when you travel?

Thanks for Reading,

♥ Dominique

3 Responses to “Paris Shops”

  1. GailR 23 May 2014 at 9:03 am #

    Oh I love that chandelier as well. I’m not sure I’m awake enough in the morning – or any time for that matter – to have an eye looking at me as with the Derian pitcher and mug.

  2. used school locker 26 May 2014 at 2:39 pm #

    Hi would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decorating with Plates | gusto & grace - 1 July 2014

    […] when I posted about shops I visited in Paris? This ship plate I mentioned, pictured below will join (at least two of) the plates in the entry as […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 997 other followers

