Paris Museums

19 May

I was pretty proud of myself for having written two blog posts in advance that posted while I was in Paris. What I failed to prepare for was the need for a vacation after my vacation. I have been back from Paris for just at a week now and have readjusted back to normalcy, which is far less exciting yet somehow far more exhausting than the thirteen hour days I spent traipsing around the City of Lights with my husband.

It is unreal how much we crammed into five days in Paris. While I wish we had another day or two so we would have slowed the pace and sipped just a little more wine in the outward-facing cafe chairs, I think we did Paris well, and we certainly did it big.

I have sifted through over a thousand pictures (eek!) and will share about 100 photos of our trip over the next five days. Today, I’ll focus on museums, tomorrow, French food!

Anthony and I opted to purchase the Paris museum pass, which is something I have always forgone in other cities. With it, we skipped some long lines and saved a few euros, while being able to pop into a few museums we wouldn’t have otherwise made time for.

Musee d’Orsay had an amazing Van Gogh exhibit going on.

Musee d'Orsay

Orsay Museum

Inside d'Orsay

Hugo Clock

Recognize this clock? Musee d’Orsay was formerly a train station and served as the inspiration for the station in the 2011 Oscar nominated film, Hugo.

Van Gogh's Bedroom

We did not spend much time in Musee de l’Armee, but had to see Napoleon’s tomb.

Army Museum Couryard

Inside the tomb, pictured below, there are six more coffins: one of oak, one of ebony, two of lead, one of mahogany, and finally tin. Did you know when they returned his body to France 19 years after his death, his body was still perfectly preserved?

Napoleon's Tomb Army Museum

Army Museum

Right around the corner from the Musse de l’Armee is the picturesque Musee Rodin. The building itself says Paris to me, with the parquet floors and an abundance of moulding and mirrors. With gorgeous gardens, the famous Thinker, and a view of le Tour Eiffel, this museum is a must-see, right up there with The Louvre and Orsay Museum.

Rodin Museum Paris Rodin Thinker The Thinker and the Eiffel Tower Rodin Topiary

Gates of Hell Thinker Rodin Museum

Musee du Louvre is the third largest museum in the world. On the river cruise, our guide told us the French joke is that if you spent three seconds looking at each piece in the Louvre, you would be there for thirty straight days.

The Louvre

The sun set so late in Paris. These photos were taken around 9pm.

Musee de Louvre

Louvre Mona Lisa

Centre Pompidou’s view of the city didn’t impress me as much as I expected, and I the building stuck out like a sore thumb, but I really enjoy more modern and contemporary art so we spent a decent amount of time at Pompidou.

Pompidou

Cinamathique Francaise was a little off the tourists’ beaten path, but my cinephile husband and I enjoyed seeing the history of early moving pictures. While signs were almost entirely in French, the museum was really interactive, which made it fun- even for people like me who stumble around for “bonjour” and “merci.”  It doesn’t hurt that the building was designed by Frank Gehry either.

La Cinemathique Francaise

Have you ever been to Paris? What were your favorite museums?

Check back tomorrow to get a little French flavor!

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Paris Museums”

  1. Kelli 19 May 2014 at 7:55 am #

    Love the photos! I’ve been to Paris a couple of different times and it was the old churches I loved going in the most. I can’t wait to see your food photos! Yum!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paris Monuments (and other non-museum sites) | gusto & grace - 22 May 2014

    […] and I did enjoy catching glimpses of it from afar while visiting other sites (like viewing it over the shoulder of The Thinker at the Rodin […]

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 975 other followers

