Bathroom Decor Dilemmas

25 Apr

I am an art thief. I took the artwork pictured below without paying for it.

Image

Before

I really don’t even have any interest in the artwork, but I am crazy about the frame, so I took it.

In my defense, my neighbor put it on the curb and I asked him if I could have it. I think he is absolutely bonkers for tossing it.

I took it without even knowing what I would do with it or where I would put it, but at the low price of free I could not pass it up. A menu in the kitchen? A frame for new artwork? After quickly realizing that it is the perfect size for the awkward vanity in the bathroom upstairs, I found its home and its purpose.

With a $17 piece of glass from Lowes, corner braces, and a few screws, I turned it into a mirror.

Image

After

But, much like the children’s book if you give a mouse a cookie, the what-next wheels started turning as soon as I put it in place.

The over-the-top ornateness of the frame makes even my favorite shadow puppet plates feel plain.

Image

Maybe you’d be willing to give me your input. Here are the questions that have been on my mind since the mirror was hung (Note, not major changes such as a new vanity or new flooring are in the cards right now):

  • Should I paint the frame of the mirror? If so, what color? High gloss?
  • Should I remove the cabinet above the toilet? It never looked odd before the mirror was hung, but I could possibly reuse it in laundry room, and we do not need the storage in the bathroom with a double vanity and a linen closet.
  • Should I paint the cabinets? What color?
  • What color should I paint the walls? (Any shade of red is out)
  • Do the hot air balloon and the shadow puppet plates need to move out now?

Image

To see the bathroom with the builder-grade mirror in all its beige glory, click here.

Thanks for reading,

♥ Dominique

8 Responses to “Bathroom Decor Dilemmas”

  1. Shae | HelloHomebody 25 April 2014 at 9:33 am #

    That mirror is amazing, best DIY ever! I have several much smaller ornate frames that I painted a glossy white for our wedding. I’m getting a little bored with the plain white, haven’t decided yet whether I should totally repaint or just add some antique glazing.

  2. GailR 25 April 2014 at 12:48 pm #

    Lose the cabinet (you said you don’t need it in that bath). Then take the finger shadows and mount each in a frame – like a shadow box – with the back/mat (darker color) about half the width of the shadow units themselves around. The frame on each can be related to the color/stain on the vanity to not be a deterrent to the frame.

  3. Kelli 25 April 2014 at 2:49 pm #

    Mirror is awesome! Wonderful that your husband let you put gold in the bathroom. Would not happen in my house. :) Black cabinets with brass knobs might be neat.

  4. Lindsay 25 April 2014 at 4:45 pm #

    Take down the cabinet above the toilet, paint vanity white, paint walls a grayish blue…my two cents :)

  5. Caitlin 25 April 2014 at 6:03 pm #

    I don’t have any ideas for your other questions but I do think it would be nice to relocate the cabinet above the toilet outta there.

  6. Valorie McNabb Pope 25 April 2014 at 8:12 pm #

    I’m kind of partial to espresso for the cabinets (losing the small one) and silver or satin-brushed nickel or oiled bronze for the hardware. I would paint the gold frame the same espresso and then antique it with paint that matches the metal of choice for the hardware.

    Wall color would be dependent, in part on your choice of hardware. It would also need to be something complimentary to the tile.

  7. pamela thibodeaux 26 April 2014 at 12:26 am #

    Great find :). In my opinion, and what I would do…make the mirror the focal point of the bathroom. In all its grand and gilded charm, I would give it the pop it deserves. I would remove the floating cabinet. Two options for the vanity itself: #1 would be to remove and to go for a vanity piece that has softer even rounded lines. Can still be modern, but not so symmetrically lined. #2 paint the current vanity a soft white as well as the walls…OR go with the beige paint. White on white or Beige with the artwork and mirror as the “pop” could be really interesting ;) I would say maybe hang the hot air balloon fixture perhaps in a different corner of the room as to not take away from the mirror. I am partial to the knobs/handles from Anthropologie…. replacing the current ones with something more unique and fitting would give it a lift ;)

  8. Christina 5 May 2014 at 4:34 pm #

    Your neighbor IS bonkers! Jeepers. What a great frame! I would move the hot air balloon to make the mirror the focal point and replace the upper cabinet with open shelves (maybe white?). I’m at a loss for paint colors. Maybe deep espresso for the base cabinets? I wouldn’t paint the frame, but I’m a total sucker for brass. I’m sure it’ll come out great whatever you decide! Can’t wait to see!! :)

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 997 other followers

