Growing an Avocado Tree

19 Nov

Did you know avocado trees take 2-15 years to bear fruit, and some never bear fruit? Or that Jason Mraz lives on an Avocado tree farm which helps supply Chipotle?

At least three months ago, Anthony and I decided to plant an avocado tree. We started with six pits and ended up with one plant. The lone survivor is finally big enough to  graduate from its starter cup into a pot. This guide is the best information we could find for growing the rich, creamy, green fruit. I hope one day we have an abundance of avocados so we can make endless guacamole and  crocks of Chicken Tomatillo Soup. If you’re seeking for the secret to amazing guacamole, it is cumin. Add a dash to your favorite recipe and it will change your life.

How to Grow an Avocado Tree www.gustoandgraceblog.com

To plant a garden is to believe in tomorrow. – Audrey Hepburn

Do you successfully grow any plants? This is my best attempt to date and it’s success is due in large part to my husband.

Look for a recipe to my all time favorite dessert on Friday.

 

5 Responses to “Growing an Avocado Tree”

  1. Val 19 November 2013 at 9:04 am #

    Dom! I planted one in June! It’s happily growing in my kitchen window though I seriously doubt it will ever bear fruit here in NC. I think our latitude is beyond the point of having it survive through the winter outside. Wishful thinking though! Mine is about 2 feet tall and in desperate need of repotting . . . in search of the perfect container!

    • gusto&grace 19 November 2013 at 9:18 am #

      Awesome! We are trying to grow a second one for cross pollination. Do you think NC to TX is too far for them to cross pollinate each other? :)

  2. danontheswanriver 19 November 2013 at 9:20 am #

    I have tried a few times from the pip but have not had one that fruits, so I resorted to buying one more mature from a nursery. This one fruited after 3 years. Thanks for the great post!

    Dan
    http://www.growingfruitandveggies.com

    • gusto&grace 21 November 2013 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks for visiting. Like I said in my post, I started six at one time and only one sprouted! If you’ve got any helpful hints, pass them along!

  3. katyhancock 19 November 2013 at 10:05 am #

    It’s on my bucket list to plant a garden and I definitely love avocados, so tasty!

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 906 other followers

