My Newly Navy and Grey Bedroom

12 Nov

I think beige walls look old and dirty. There, I said it. When I moved into my new Austin home, every wall and ceiling in the house was beige. Slowly, I’m covering up the watered down builder’s beige. This weekend, Anthony helped me tackle our bedroom.

Here are the beige befores:

Image

Image

During:

Master_Bedroom_Painting_Gusto_and_GraceAnd take the afters as progress, not a finished product. The vision is bigger than the paint. This was step one in the makeover.

Master_Bedroom_After_Gusto_and_Grace

 

 

I learned from our powder bathroom, that textured walls in dark colors should be painted with flat paint, nothing else. The navy looks darker in person than in pictures. It goes up the wall, across the ceiling and down the other wall creating a faux canopy. I love how it turned out. The dresser, the nightstands, and the P will eventually change colors.

Accents will be bright blue. I think that will help the room feel less like Hillary Swank’s home (well styled, but too masculine for me).

Master_Bedroom_Dresser_Wall_After I bought Vincent from the Main Street Arts Festival in Fort Worth two years ago. He finally found a (temporary) home. Cue Carrie Underwood. He’s too small for the space, but it feels good to finally have art on the walls.

What did you do this weekend?

 

 

 

10 Responses to “My Newly Navy and Grey Bedroom”

  1. Caitlin 12 November 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    So good! I love the faux canopy!!

    • gusto&grace 12 November 2013 at 1:45 pm #

      Thanks, Caitlin! I like to think of it as the grown-up version of a fort, and one I never have to clean up.

  2. Mom 12 November 2013 at 5:33 pm #

    So I won’t be painting when I come down for Thanksgiving?

    • gusto&grace 12 November 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      Nope! You’re off the hook! Unless you want to help faux bois the nightstands…

      • Mom 13 November 2013 at 6:41 am #

        Didn’t consider myself “on the hook”. I’ll bring the faux bois kit!

  3. maggiemaysgifts 19 November 2013 at 10:52 am #

    cool idea!

    • gusto&grace 21 November 2013 at 2:37 pm #

      Thank you! I can hardly wait to add accessories.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best of Gusto and Grace 2013 Edition | gusto & grace - 31 December 2013

    […] the many blessing we received from our registry, I think the biggest impact projects were painting the faux canopy in the master, repainting the kitchen cabinets, restoring the patio furniture, and the simple […]

  2. Ticket Stubs + Fillable Lamps | gusto & grace - 11 February 2014

    […] For me, it was that the scale was all wrong. As was the style. For him, they just didn’t function well enough. In his words the lampshades were too low (he would often accidentally bump them) and the lamps were wobbly. You can see our old scissor-arm lamps in our bedroom here. […]

  3. Nightstands: A Dramatic Before and After | gusto & grace - 14 February 2014

    […] small project after another, our bedroom is slowly coming together (Check out a few of the others here and here).Without any further ado, I give you the dramatic difference in the nightstands now, the […]

Please note: Wordpress prevents me from seeing your e-mail address. If you post a comment you would like a response to, check back on this post or leave your e-mail address in the body of the comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 980 other followers

